Ten Things Tuesday – June 28

28 Jun

Geek Week edition. 10 geeky things I love:

1. The smell of books new and old. If I had to classify myself as any type of geek, it would be a book geek. I love reading, and the smell of books is always enticing, no matter their age.

2. Shark Week. I mean, really, who doesn’t like to watch shows about the most ruthless, misunderstood killers on the planet? I love Shark Week – it’s by far the best week of the year on Discovery Channel. And speaking of Discovery…

3. The Discovery Channel. I’d pick to watch this over almost anything. Deadliest Catch, Dirty Jobs, Mythbusters. I love it all.

4. Nathan Fillion. I won’t go over it again, because I’m pretty sure this is the third straight week he’s appeared on my blog in some way or another. He’s a major geek, and I love him even more for that.

5. Boys with glasses. Nothing gets geekier or cuter than that.

6. Grammar. It shouldn’t be a geeky thing to love, but rather something we all strive to do well. It has sadly taken some hits, what with emails, texts, and other forms of mass communication. Give me a well-written sentence, and I swoon.

7. Being left-handed. It’s a gift, like being a member of an exclusive club. You just don’t get it unless you’re a member.

8. Science fiction. Maybe this should be higher up on the list than it is, but here it is, anyway. I’m not talking aliens or superheroes so much as time travel, fantasy worlds, and futuristic dystopian societies. Although I do enjoy a bit of space travel now and then. It’s a broad category for me, including things like Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, V For Vendetta, Firefly, Lost…you get the idea. I know I shouldn’t, but I tend to group all those things into one very broad category, even though they probably shouldn’t be. And because it was the only way I could get away with mentioning all those things without creating an entirely separate list made up only of them.

9. 42. The answer to the ultimate question of life, the universe, and everything.

10. Zombies. They’re having their moment now, like the overdone phenomenon of vampires. I don’t know much about zombies or surviving the zombie apocalypse, but I do enjoy good zombie humor when I see it.

Leave a Reply

