TV

16 Jun

Pick your five favourite tv shows (in no particular order) and answer the following questions about them.

1. Arrested Development
2. Glee
3. The Office
4. Castle
5. Lost

Who is your favorite character in 2?
That’s a pretty tough call, considering how large the ensemble cast is. I guess you could say it kind of changes from week to week, based on what the characters are all doing. I’m tempted to say Puck or Mr. Schue, just because they’re so sexy. Sue Sylvester would be an obvious choice – I wish I could deliver one-liners with a straight face like that. Granted, that would make me a rather mean person, but it’s just so delicious!

Who’s your least favorite character in 1?
Maybe Lindsay. Not to say that I dislike her, but I just love all the other characters more. This is hard to compare, though, consider they’re all different and, truthfully, not really relatable. That doesn’t make me dislike any of them, though.

What’s your favorite episode of 4? 
I really enjoyed the Halloween episode from season 2, where the characters were dressed up as some of the actors’ previous roles. It was a really clever reference to the work they’d done before. And the rest of the story – the murder of someone from New York’s underground “vampire” community – was well-written, too. It was current without playing into all those stupid stereotypes and rule-exceptions so common in vampire lit these days.

What is your favorite season on 5?
I think either season 3 or 4, which really starts to get into all the mysteries of the island. These seasons also start the craziness of the time-travel. And let’s face it: I love, love, love Desmond Hume.

Whats your favorite relationship in 3?
The obvious answer here is Jim and Pam – who doesn’t love that love story? As much as I love them actually together, there’s something to be said for that unspoken tension between them in the early seasons. That said, I really kind of enjoy the relationship Jim and Dwight have. It’s a love/hate thing, for sure, which makes it so fun to watch. They really annoy each other, but deep down you can tell there’s a positive connection. I really enjoy the pranks Jim plays on Dwight, though.

Who has the bad relationship in 2?
Who doesn’t have a bad relationship on Glee? They’re always going back and forth with feelings, so it’s hard to pick. I might say Finn and Quinn, though, because she’s bratty (even though she was pretty cool there for a while), and because it annoys me a little that their names rhyme.

How long have you watched 1?
For several years. Of course, it sadly didn’t last very long – there were only 3 seasons – and I didn’t watch it when it was actually aired. But it’s by far one of the best shows ever on TV, and I watch it on DVD constantly. It never gets old.

How did you become interested in 3?
Before I started watching The Office, my Thursday nights were devoted to Grey’s Anatomy. During the writer’s strike a few years back, though, I got out of the habit of watching Grey’s. One of my friends had some seasons of The Office on DVD, so we started watching it together. I think we watched an entire season of it over one long weekend – probably during January when we had very little to do. Anyway, ever since then I was hooked. I’ve completely given up on Grey’s – haven’t watched a single episode since then – and now watch The Office regularly.

Who’s your favorite actor in 4?
Nathan Fillion. He’s witty and handsome and just enough of an ass to be irresistible.

Which show do you prefer, 1, 2, or 5?
These are so hard to compare! Arrested Development, Glee, and Lost? How to pick between a comedy, a dramedy, and adventure? Well, I guess if we were to put it in desert-island perspective, I’d have to say Arrested Development (sorry, Lost). Not to say I don’t like the other two shows as much, just that I can’t see myself ever getting tired of AD. I watch it on a pretty regular basis now, anyway.

Which show have you seen more episodes of, 1 or 3?
In terms of seeing more total episodes, The Office, just because it’s been on four seasons longer than Arrested Development. In terms of percentage of episodes seen, it’s a tie. I’ve seen every single episode of both shows.

If you could be anyone from 4, who would you be?
I’d probably choose to be Martha, Castle’s mom. She’s the kind of older person I want to be – seen it all, done it all, wrote the book. I wouldn’t say I’m really like that now, but I’d like to be that adventurous. She has all these fascinating stories to tell of her crazy adventures, and she can get away with saying ridiculous things because she’s earned it. I want to be like that. She’s the kind of grandmother you’d want for yourself – the kind who got arrested for funny things, the one who doesn’t think twice about shamelessly flirting in front of you, or who will break out into a random performance because she’s the life of the party wherever she goes.

How would you kill off your favorite character in 1?
It would have to be something truly ridiculous, in the style that only Arrested Development delivers. That favorite character is either Buster or Gob – they have the best one-liners in the show, I think. I feel like either one of them could be killed in a magic show gone awry. Or blown up in the banana stand.

Pair two characters in 3 that would make an unlikely, but strangely okay couple.
I still love the idea of Dwight and Angela together. In the context of the office, I guess the do sort of make sense, athough they’re not the first two you’d necessarily put together.Has 4 inspired you in any way?
It definitely inspired me to read more mystery novels.

Give a random quote from 1.
“I’ve made a huge mistake.”

 

Which has better theme music, 2 or 4?
As far as opening music, definitely Castle. As for the rest of the show, well, you can’t really compare anything with Glee.

Leave a Reply

