Ten Things Tuesday – May 24

24 May

Ten things I need for my new apartment in DC:

1. Sofa. I need a good, comfy one that I can relax in but that also provides plenty of seating for friends and guests. I’m going to be very busy and very tired in grad school, and I will need a good comfy couch.

2. Microwave. For heating up all those inevitable Lean Cuisine dinners.

3. Dining room table and chairs. What’s the use in cooking when you don’t have anywhere proper to sit and eat? Sitting on the couch and eating in front of the TV is always an option, sure, but it’s just not the same as having an actual table. Besides, how will I be able to cook for friends without a table?

4. Desk. I have a large corner desk in my room right now, but I have a feeling I’ll need something smaller to fit into my room wherever I end up living. I’d like to have a desk area specifically set up for my computer, printer, and other related things so I can have designated space to study and work.

5. Plates, bowls, cups, etc. Not like I need a whole large set or anything, but at least something so that I can cook for myself.

6. A walk-in closet. This isn’t a deal-breaker, necessarily, but it would be wonderful to have all that storage space. Anyone who’s seen my closet knows what a pack rat I am when it comes to clothes. I need somewhere that I can organize everything where it can be seen and used. A large closet space is a must for me, especially since I won’t have the option of coming home to switch out my summer and winter clothes as often as I’m used to.

7. Small kitchen appliances. Blender, toaster, coffee pot. Nothing fancy, just the basics. I would, however, love to have a good mixer so I can bake.

8. Pots and pans. I love to cook, but I have nothing of my own to actually use. Everything I’ve been using belongs to my parents, of course. It’s time I got my own.

9. Spices. There’s nothing better to make a meal go from bland to wow than spices. I need a whole variety so I can really enjoy the food I make.

10. Bathroom storage. I have an entire bathroom to myself, and I have yet to master the art of great, compact bathroom storage. It’s a constant problem, and will become even worse if I end up sharing a bathroom with someone (which is likely).

Leave a Reply

