Movin’ on Up

23 May

Amanda is moving this week to start her fieldwork for occupational therapy. She’s spending the first three months in Hilton Head, then the next three months in Nashville. I don’t know what I’m going to do without her, although it’s just going to be for a few months before I move. I’ve taken the day off work today to help her pack and get organized. I love packing – it’s kind of a pathetic thing to love, but it’s somehow relaxing. I can spend hours doing that and not get tired. It’s a great way to pass the time. It’s weird to think that Amanda’s already through two years of grad school and moving on to do her fieldwork. Where has all that time gone? I know that two years really isn’t that much time, but it’s just gone by so fast!

I’ve spent most of my day in her room, helping her pack up her life into boxes, wrapping pictures and keepsakes, and entertaining her new puppy. It’s been such a great, bittersweet day. It’s really gotten me thinking about my own move, coming up here in a few months. So far I don’t have anywhere to live, but I’m looking. I’m already starting to think about the things I’ll take with me, and the things I’ll leave behind. This move is a more permanent one, because I’m actually moving into an apartment this time, rather than a dorm. It could potentially be home for a few years. That’s kind of a weird and scary thought – that I’m growing up, ready for my own place, with my own grown-up stuff. Don’t get me wrong, I’m so ready for that. Living at home has been nice for a while, but it’s definitely time for a change. A more permanent, more risky change.

I hope I can go down to Hilton Head sometime this summer to see Amanda. It’s going to be tough packing all my stuff, looking for apartments, and traveling to see all my friends before I go. I don’t know how I’ll manage it all. Especially since I need to be saving money, and you can guess how that goal is going…

Amanda and I are planning to see Bridesmaids sometime tomorrow, in the midst of all the packing and farewells. I’ve already seen it, and it was hysterical! Really, if you haven’t seen it by now, I highly suggest it. I knew Amanda would really like it, too. She’s finally moving on Thursday, and I’ll help her with packing again tomorrow. It’s nice to have a four-day weekend! I’m just glad that this isn’t a very busy week at work for me right now, so I can spend this extra time helping a friend!

Leave a Reply

