Recently

7 May

Just a random update…

I’ve been so busy at work this week. I had some BioFuels programs early this week, which kicked off six straight days of outreaches. I’m surprised that my museum t-shirts don’t have holes in them by now, what with all these programs I’ve had to do. I’ll tell you one thing – even though it’s easy to get up and get ready in the morning, it makes me feel really sloppy to wear basically the same thing all the time. There’s hardly any thought that goes into what I’m wearing to work lately.

On Tuesday, Nikki, Amanda and I met for dinner at Mellow Mushroom and a late movie. the food was great, of course. I had that amazing hot potato pie again, which is basically a baked potato on a pizza. It sounds kind of weird, but trust me, it’s amazing. We went to see Limitless, which none of us had seen before. I remember seeing previews for it a whie ago; we went to see it at the $3 second-run theater. It wasn’t a great movie, but an interesting concept. What if you really did have a pill that could open your brain function so that you could remember everything instantly, learn languages in a few hours, and figure out how to play the stock market successfully. That would be awesome. Maybe then I’d figure out how to balance my work and social life, not to mention finish my work in a timely manner, and figure out how to move to London and find my British husband.

Nikki and I have been continuing our Felicity dates. We’ve moved on to season 2 by now, and it’s getting good. It’s no Lost, of course, but nothing ever could be. It’s just nice to have that time to spend with a friend, watching something we enjoy. It makes me think about my own journey going off to grad school. It’s a little different than Felicity, of course, but the general idea is still the same. It’s a story of finding yourself, growing up, and learning to navigate the world as an adult. I think that’s a good way to sum up how my life will go in the next couple of years.

In work news…I’m finally done with Coalition programs! It feels so great to be able to say that. I’ve been working on using that grant money for such a long time, and it’s finally finished. It’s a huge relief for me, not to mention all the other museum staff who have had to deal with those kids coming in and not always being on their best behavior. So, as of yesterday, I’m officially finished. Last night was also First Friday, which made it a pretty hectic day. I had a lunch meeting with the outreach coordinator from the children’s museum in Chattanooga, who drove up to observe last night’s program. Lunch was nice, but she only ended up staying for like 5 minutes of First Friday. Go figure. Anyway, it was just a lot going on yesterday. On top of that, I had to get ready for a promotional event today out at the fairgrounds. It’s my second-straight six-day work week. I’m more than a little tired out from it.

So let’s sum up. I’ve been extremely busy at work, what with conservation camps this week, finishing up Coalition programs, BioFuels programs, Blue Plum, First Friday, and preparing for today’s event, it’s been a heck of a week. My work life isn’t looking much better over the next couple of weeks, but that’s neither here nor there. Watching Felicity with Nikki, having random dinner and movie nights with her and Amanda. All in all, not bad.

Leave a Reply

