Chills

5 May

Well, I get to say it again. You’d never know it was late spring, almost summer around here. It’s cold again. Not by winter standards, of course, but definitely much colder than it has been recently. We had a really bad storm the other night, and yesterday it was so cold. I would know, because I’ve spent the last two days at conservation camp, standing out in the middle of the woods with a hissing cockroach and a bunch of 4th graders. Tuesday’s weather was really pretty – warm and sunny. It was enough to give me a bit of a sunburn. Yesterday couldn’t have been more different. It was rainy and freezing – I left my jacket on the entire time, and I was worried about the cockroach getting too cold. It even started hailing a little at one point. The two days couldn’t have been more different – from warm, sunny early summer to rainy, cold late fall. I hope I don’t have to repeat that anytime soon.

As outreaches go, the programs were pretty good, despite the weather. It’s always tough to keep the attention of 4th graders by the end of the day, even while holding a huge exotic bug. I did this same one last year (you remember the Enviroscape fiasco, right?), so I was used to the format and the other presenters. Of all the conservation camps there are around here, this one is probably the most challenging as far as the audience of kids. I’m just glad to have it overwith though, because that means one less thing I have to do. It’s a crazy couple of weeks, and I don’t know how I’m ever going to get anything done.

It was even still cold again today. Seriously, I don’t know what’s up with this weather. You think winter’s over, and then suddenly it’s the first week of May and you’re back in a fleece coat sitting by a fire to keep warm. I guess it’s lucky that I didn’t take the flannel sheets off my bed yet…

Leave a Reply

