Ten Things Tuesday – May 3

3 May

I’m killing two birds with one stone today by writing a TTT list and using a Plinky prompt. Despite the random, chilly, and unpredictable weather around here, it’s getting to be summertime. That time of year when it’s too hot to do much of anything except throw on a cute sundress, open a cold bottle of beer, and head outside to hear your favorite bands perform. Yes, it’s summer music festival time again. I regret that I won’t be taking part in any of them, sadly, but here’s my lineup anyway:

1. Jack Johnson. I love his music, and so far haven’t ever seen him live. His style would be perfect for that mid-afternoon haze when you just want to chill out and relax.

2. John Mayer. I guess I’d put him in the headlining spot. He plays a killer live show, which I should know after seeing him 5 times already. He really just gets better and better every time I see him. He might give off this arrogant public persona, but on stage, it’s all about the music.

3. Florence and the Machine. Just so fun and upbeat. Great to dance to and to keep the energy going.

4. Flogging Molly. Just to throw something random and energetic in there. I think they’d be great playing a late-night show, when you’re tired and delirious but still want to have fun. They certainly would give you reason to keep the drinks flowing.

5. Coldplay. Something to wake up to after your night of hard partying.

6. Led Zeppelin. I mean, really, who doesn’t need to get the Led out at 2 in the morning? I’d let them start anytime they wanted, and just play till they couldn’t take it anymore. The perfectall-night rock show.

7. Mumford and Sons. One of my new favorite recent discoveries. I’m so sad that I lost all their music in the great computer crash a few months ago. Anyway, I’d love to see them live and I have a feeling they would fit in well to this festival atmosphere. Something a little different, but still fun. You need a little of that bluegrass twang to perk up your ears.

8. Conan O’Brien. Because if you’re going to include comedy, you better do it right. In fact, I had a hard time deciding between him and Eddie Izzard. I think I would just end up letting them do a double-set together. It’s a win-win.

9. Jamie Cullum. For a bit of jazz flair, just to shake things up a bit. I’m sure he does a really good combination of high-energy and mellow performances. A bit more high-class than some of my other selections, but still a great addition.

10. The Avett Brothers. I tend to think of them along the lines of Mumford and Sons, so they wouldn’t be completely out of place here. I might even save them for last…

Leave a Reply

