Full Retreat

18 Apr

Today was our annual staff retreat, where we do long-term planning and team-building. It sounds super touchy-feely, but it’s really not. It’s mostly about the food for us. We get really excited about what we’re going to have for lunch, what kind of snacks we’ll have, etc. What can I say – we’re a bunch of women. We think about our stomachs before anything else. I made a special recipe of thin mint cupcakes for everyone. They kind of melted a little bit in Heather’s car, but they still taste good. I don’t know about you, but I love the combination of chocolate and mint together. I really did use the Girl Scout cookies in the cupcakes, too!

It’s always nice to get out of the museum and do something different, with a change of scenery. We went up to a local camp, where we went last year. It was a laid-back atmosphere, with no pressure to answer phone calls or return messages. I enjoy days like this. At the end of the day, we played a new board game called Smart Ass, which I actually ended up winning at the last minute. That was totally unplanned, I can tell you. I guess sometimes it pays to have a wealth of random useless information. We also got to ride the little train up through the gorge to see the river and all the pretty trees. It was a nice time – the weather was really good for that adventure, too.

We spent a good part of the day setting out goals and events for the upcoming year. Because our director is leaving, the museum will be going through a transition period for a while. I kind of feel like I’m exempt from that, seeing as I’m leaving, too. But I was able to kind of map out what the outreach schedule will look like, so that whoever takes over from me will kind of have something to go on.

It was a fun, relaxing day. And even though I drank way too much coffee and was jittery the whole day, I wish more days could be like today.

Leave a Reply

