Laura and the Terrible, Horrible, No-Good, Very Bad Week

12 Mar

If you completely missed the title of this post, I haven’t had a very good week at all. It’s been several small things, and one rather large thing, that all added up to make this one of the worst weeks I’ve had in a while. I’ll just run down a quick list, because reading some long story about my recent woes isn’t going to do anyone any good. But I need to vent about it for a few minutes, so here goes.

Let’s start off with the large thing that happened. This thing happened on Sunday night (only I didn’t know it yet). I did a defragment and a disk cleanup on my hard drive. Apparently my computer heard “erase hard drive,” because when I turned my computer back on on Monday, everything was gone. And I mean everything. Windows wouldn’t even start, nothing would load. How this happened, I have no idea. So basically now, I have to reload everything and start from scratch. Luckily, I have the majority of my files backed up on an external hard drive, otherwise I would be absolutely devastated. The only thing that appears to be missing is several (well, probably 300) iTunes songs. Specifically ones I’d paid for. Did you know that if you ever lose iTunes files you’ve purchased, you have to buy them again? What kind of customer service policy is that? So anyway, I now have to decide how to fix this problem. Well, not so much fix it as circumvent procedure…I wouldn’t ever wish this problem on anyone, ever. If you’ve ever lost anything on a computer, you know how terrible it is.

Something else not so hot about this week is that I’ve worked six days in a row. I don’t know why I do this to myself, scheduling so much all at once, stressing myself out, not being able to say no. I guess I figure I don’t have anything else to do, so I might as well just work. It hasn’t been a bad workweek, per se, just incredibly long. Six days of some rather long days. I do not enjoy leaving my house at 6:45 in the morning. Especially not two days in a row. Seriously, why do I do this to myself?

On Tuesday I had to go to the dentist. I’ve expressed my feelings about this before. I didn’t get a bad report or anything, and it really doesn’t give me anxiety to go. I just really, really hate going. It’s awkward – someone has their hands in your mouth, trying to talk to you, staring down at your face. It’s just an uncomfortable experience. And yes, my teeth feel clean afterwards, but I just have this gritty, weird taste in my mouth. Not fun. At least it’s another six months from now before I go again.

I also have a friend that’s trying to make a major decision right now, and I’m not sure she’s entirely in the right frame of mind to do so. I don’t say this because I don’t agree with her decision, but because I feel like it doesn’t really reflect who she is. I want to be a supportive friend, and I do ultimately want her to be happy. It’s just hard to sit back and watch someone do something you have reservations about.

With all that said, here’s to hoping next week is much better.

Leave a Reply

