Ten Things Tuesday – February 22

22 Feb

Ten reasons why it’s better to be a kid than an adult:

1. Naps. When I was little, my mom would sometimes miss me in the house. It would get eerily quiet – the time when most kids found themselves doing something to get into trouble. My mom would go looking for me. Did she find me covered in lipstick, having unrolled all the toilet paper, and stuck my toys in the toilet? Nope. She found me in bed, asleep. Voluntarily napping. I have to say, I miss taking naps. It’s not that I don’t have the time, but for some reason whenever I try to nap during the day I wake up feeling kind of sick to my stomach, eyes hurting, head achy. Definitely not refreshed, as I was hoping to be. I know many people, my age and older, who are perfectly capable of taking midday naps as adults. I guess I got out all my good napping when I was little. Sadly, it is no more.

2. Imagination. Some kids never grow out of that sense of wonderment about the world. But too often, we’re jaded by TV and things we see in the media. We forget what it was like to be a kid and enjoy fairy tales and fantasy. We worry too much about the things at hand, and forget to see the world through the eyes of a child. Or we forget. Either way, it’s sad to see imagination declining.

3. Eating dessert without feeling guilty. Kids have no concept of calories. Some would argue that this is exactly the problem that’s lead to widespread childhood obesity. But it’s bigger than that, I think. Parents are primarily responsible for the health and nutrition of their children – it’s up to them to provide a healthy, balanced diet. Kids don’t really have a concept of this, and for the most part are not in control of what they have for dinner. That’s why eating dessert is so special for kids – it’s a treat and it’s delicious. And it comes guilt-free.

4. Spending the night with friends. There are few things better in childhood than spending Friday night over at a friend’s house. It’s different, it’s exotic, it’s special. I sometimes sleep over at friend’s houses now, but it’s just not as magical as it was in elementary school.

5. Ignorance is bliss. Although I’m a firm believer in education, there’s something about leaving the mysteries of the world unanswered that makes it magical and content for kids. Maybe not ignorance in an educational sense – more of a loss of innocence. Once you pass that age where you start to realize the way the world works, it’s just never the same. This also applies to dreaming about the future and what it will be like when you’re older. There’s something exciting about endless possibilities. When you’re a kid, you think you can do anything, be anything, go anywhere. It becomes a little more limited when you’re an adult. Sure, you actually are old enough to do the things you dreamed about in childhood, but you’re old enough to realize they might not come true. When you’re young, the world still seems endless – nothing is out of reach.

6. It’s easy to be forgiving. Kids just want to be friends with everyone and be around people and everyone get along. Is that really so much to ask? Not in the eyes of a child. As an adult, it gets more complicated than that. Kids usually aren’t shy about talking to new people – they’ll tell you the most random stories, just to have someone to talk to. How many adults do you know who do that?

7. Having very little responsibility. You have to go to school. You sometimes have homework, which usually doesn’t take up too much time. You might have chores around the house, but they’re nothing like the responsibility faced by an adult. I’d much rather have to dust or clean my room than worry about dishes and balancing my checkbook. Or having to deal with anything remotely related to car maintenance or taxes.

8. $10 goes a long way. Even taking into account inflation, a $10 or $20 bill in the hands of a child is like a small fortune. Maybe it’s because I had a cheap quarters-only tooth fairy, but those bills just seem like they’ll buy anything.

9. Staying up late. You go to bed earlier than your parents, and you wonder what you’re missing at the witching hour of 9 or 10 pm. Usually, it’s nothing great, but to you, it’s a completely foreign world. So on the rare occasion you get to stay up late, you relish in the priviledge. It’s a whole different world – it’s exciting, it’s new, it’s special.

10. Things are just black and white. There’s no confusing gray area. Things are either one way or the other. Although sometimes I do enjoy the gray area – because it’s a lot more realistic and interesting – sometimes I wish for the simplicity of knowing this or that.

Stay tuned for next’s week’s continuation…

Leave a Reply

