Snowmageddon 2011

11 Jan

This morning at 9:45 was the first time since Friday evening that I left my house. It’s snowed that much. Yeah, we could have left, if we’d really put our minds to it. We probably could have made it to church on Sunday morning. Really the roads weren’t too bad this morning, so there wasn’t any reason to be on a delay, or the schools to be out. Going back to work this morning was a little hard, after being so lazy.

We spent the weekend inside with warm gas fireplace and homemade potato soup, Mexican, eggs in a blanket, and gumbo. Nothing like warm food to fill you up on a cold day! When I say I haven’t left my house, I mean I haven’t left my house. Not even gone outside. Or set foot anywhere out of doors. I didn’t even stick my head outside to watch the snow, or build a snowman.

Despite the cold outside, it was so nice to curl up in my warm bed and read for three days straight. I literally did not leave my room the entire weekend or yesterday, because I was completely enthralled in my book, The Pillars of the Earth. If you haven’t read it, I’d highly recommend it. You don’t read a 950+ page book in three days if it’s not amazing. Well, having so many snow days helps, of course. I still can’t even believe that I read all of it so quickly, but I did. I absolutely devoured every word. I just don’t have the words for it. As soon as I finished it, I wanted to start right over and read it again. Have you ever read a book like that? I think you’ll feel the same way if you read it. It’s been a long time since reading anything that good. I feel like I’ve been living in that world for three days, and have just now come up for air. I was completely enthralled in it, so much that I laid around in bed absorbed in my book. It’s almost surreal being back in the real world. I’ll have to save it for another time, until I can actually find the words for it.

3 Responses to “Snowmageddon 2011”

  1. Magnificent Minimalist 11 January, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    Oh, nice! I just went on vacation and spent my time reading by the pool. It was like summer where I was, but the principle was the same: I simply had nothing else to do. I’ll have to check out Three Pillars–thanks for the rec!

    • lazyllama27 13 January, 2011 at 11:40 am #

      Isn’t it lovely to lay around reading all day? Pillars is excellent. What did you spend your vacation reading?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Pillars of the Earth « Confessions of a Lazy Llama - 13 January, 2011

    […] Snowmageddon 2011 […]

Leave a Reply

