True Louvre

23 Dec

I’ve been thinking quite a bit lately about opening my own cupcake bakery. Now, I don’t know the first thing about opening a bakery, or even baking in one. I do plenty of my own baking at home, but that doesn’t make me a professional, by far. I don’t have the start-up capital that would be required to fun this little scheme, either. I do, however, have a pretty great name and menu.

I’m calling my imaginary cupcakery True Louvre, because I love all things French, and with my baking, it’s “louvre” at first bite. Clever, right? Well, if you need any more convincing, here are a few of the cupcakes I’ve come up with in the last few days. When I say I’ve been giving it some thought, that’s kind of an understatement.

Jitterbug: Get your caffeine fix with this chocolate and espresso concoction.
Sgt. Pepper: A rich cake doughnut with a bit of a bite, covered by crumbly cinnamon sugar.
Moulin Rouge: Can can can you resist chocolate covered cherries and chocolate ganache?
Purple Haze: Excuse us while we kiss the sky! A light angel food cupcake topped with sugared violets.
Leave the Gun: A cupcake you can’t refuse. Our version of cannoli is filled with mascarpone and ricotta and topped with crunchy pastry, chocolate chips and dusted with powdered sugar.
Puff the Magic Dragon: Don’t let the hollow cave inside this treat fool you – it’s melted marshmallow, crescent roll, and cinnamon sugar perfect for frolicking in the autumn mist.
Campfire: Our version of the perfect outdoor dessert has a graham cracker crust, chocolate cake filled with marshmallow, and topped with mini Hershey bars and mini marshmallows. Want s’more?
This Little Piggie: Bacon makes everything better. A maple cupcake topped with candied bacon. You’re welcome.
Red Devil: A diabolical mix of red velvet cake, cream cheese, and cinnamon candies.  
Nutcracker: Your jaw will go crazy for these chocolate cupcakes filled with peanut butter cookie dough and topped with chocolate peanut butter icing.  
Salt on the Rim: The sweet and salty combination of the classic margarita makes its way into our cake batter. Lime and tequila cupcakes topped with whipped cream and a sprinkle of salt.  

I’d have everyday flavors that would rotate day by day, and then have seasonal varieties, as well. Not to mention Thirsty Thursdays, when we have a selection of alcohol-infused cupcakes to get your weekend started right…

Leave a Reply

