Hallows Over Horcruxes

24 Nov

Today’s been quite the Harry Potter day. I went in to work for a few hours this morning to help with a workshop. There were 20 kids in this one – one of the biggest they’ve ever done, doing activities based on Harry Potter and wizarding legend. The kids were sorted into four houses, made their own house name and crest, made LED wands, magic potions, silly putty, and did invisible ink. It was so much fun. Heather, Liz and I all wore graduation robes and little witch hats, so we all looked like Hogwarts professors. It was really great. I even got to make my own wand – it’s made of oak, with unicorn hair inside and a red light. Very fitting for me, I think. Now if only it were real…

This afternoon, my mom and James and I went to see the new Harry Potter movie – finally! It’s been out almost a week, and I’ve been dying to see it. Of course, we had to wait until James got home from school to go see it, and it was definitely worth the wait. I’d seen tons of posts about it on Facebook – no real spoilers, just how much everyone enjoyed it – which only made me want to see it more. My mom thought it was really scary, and it was, compared to the others. But this is the end, the most intense part of the battle that’s been raging on for seven years in the wizard world. It’s not going to be little butterflies and pixies everywhere. I can’t wait for the next movie – it won’t be too terribly long of a wait, but I’d gladly sit in a theater for six straight hours to watch it.

We’ve been watching all the previous movies, getting ready for this one. We didn’t make it through all of them, though – we started with the first, and then waited like a week before watching the second one. This didn’t leave us enough days between to finish the series before our movie time, so we only got in four of the movies. We watched the first, second, and third, then did a quick recap of everything that happens in the fourth and fifth movies, and then watched the sixth. I’m still somewhat disappointed with the sixth movie – I feel like they left out too much information that’s really relevant to the story, and focused too much on the silly side love stories. It’s one of my favorite books, and there was a lot left out of the movie. Anyway, I won’t be bitter about it. I feel like I’ve been completely immersed in the world of Harry Potter. I just love it so much. I don’t even have enough words to express my feelings about it. That Deathly Hallows tattoo might be sooner in my future than I thought…

The whole time I was watching the new movie, I kept thinking about how much I wish magic was real. Mostly because I really want that story to be real, and not a work of fiction. It got me thinking about the real world, and all the things we’ve created for ourselves to make life easier. In my opinion, movies are the closest thing to magic we’ll ever have. Some people would argue that technology or science are better choices, but I don’t think so. Movies, more than anything, give us the chance to escape from everyday life, and create worlds that exist only in the imagination. We can imagine things that have never existed before, and through the wonder and magic of movies, create them. What’s more magical than that?

While cleaning my room this past week or so, I’ve watched quite a few movies, most of them starring British actors. Of course, this includes the Harry Potter marathon we’ve had getting ready for the new movie. I also watched Love Actually tonight, which makes me want to do two things. One, get the courage up to confess my love. No further details on that, but every time I watch that movie I’m inspired to just take a leap of faith. 2. Move to England. All these British movies really make me want to just leave everything and move over there. I don’t know how realistic that is, but I’ve felt for a while that I’m on the wrong continent. I just love British accents, culture, everything. All my favorite people in the world are British, so I feel like I really connect with them. I also heard recently that the government is being more strict about working and student visas, so I don’t know if this is the best time to make this decision. But something inside me just really, really wants to live there.

I’ve had a fondness for British and French things for quite some time, and of course we all know the exotic appeal of a foreign country (for me, European ones, especially). Now my desire to live there is stronger than ever. Maybe someday it will happen…

Leave a Reply

