Ten Things Tuesday – November 23

23 Nov

Because it’s Thanksgiving Week, today’s edition of TTT is ten things I’m thankful for this year:

1. Family. This is pretty much a given. I don’t know of too many people who aren’t thankful for this year after year. Some of us have crazy families, but for the most part they stick together during the hard times. Mostly this year I’m thankful they let me stay rent-free in their house. Not that I have too much choice – I don’t make tons of money to be out on my own. But still, it’s nice they let me come back home again.

2. My recent travels. Even though I haven’t been out of the country lately (which will happen again soon, I hope), I’ve been able to travel quite a bit the past year. I’ve been to Chicago and DC for grad school interviews; the former I’d never been to before, the latter I was glad to visit again. I got to see Katy in Boston, which was a really fantastic trip and somewhere I hope to see more of in the future. I’ve been to Folly Beach/Charleston with my family and Melody. I’ve been to Nashville numerous times. Not to mention all the local traveling I’ve been doing for work – getting to see new places right in my own backyard has been fun. I like when I’m busy and constantly have somewhere new to go.

3. Music. I really don’t know what my life would be like without music. If I were deaf, it would be so difficult, having known what it sounds like. Of course, being deaf from birth, and never knowing anything different, wouldn’t be as difficult, I think. But I can’t imagine my life without music. It’s such a part of me, part of all of us. It’s the one thing I think everyone loves, yet no one fully agrees on. I’m definitely stuck in my young adult rut, where I only listen to my favorites, and don’t find many new ones. Most of my favorite musicians  are dead or no longer touring, so I’m not too aware of the current music scene. I’m OK with that, though. I’m OK with my taste.

4. My relationship with my brother. When we were little, we didn’t really get along all the time. We’re 3 1/2 years apart, and have very different interests, so there weren’t many things we did together. The age gap and varying activities and favorite things really put a distance between us. This, in recent years, has gotten smaller. We’re not extremely close, I don’t think but we get along a lot better than we used to. He came home for Thanksgiving today, and agreed to let me treat him to lunch. Maybe he was after the free meal. I don’t know. But no matter his motives, we’re getting to a point in our lives where we can hang out together and understand each other much better.

5. A job that I really like. I don’t always love it, and sometimes it’s stressful and irritating. But what job isn’t? You’re not always going to have perfect days. I’m glad to be doing something fulfilling and challenging. It’s rewarding to know you’re doing a good job at something you enjoy. It makes up for all the difficult times.

6. Furthering that, getting along with all my coworkers. As jobs go, mine is fairly drama-free, although that doesn’t always happen in the Museum. I’m only here about half the time, though, so I kind of live in my own little world. I sometimes feel like the outsider, because I don’t fully fit in with anyone else – I’m not an educator or still in college like most of them. I’m not married with a family, as all the managers are. So I’m kind of in my own little world, apart from everyone. But that doesn’t mean I don’t have friends here. I like everyone at the Museum, and I think we work well together.

7. Reading. I’ve been reading books on and off lately – not nearly so much as I used to. But it’s a skill I will never lose, and no one can take away from me. I’ll always enjoy reading, even if I don’t always put in the time for it like I shoud.

8. Going to the gym. I haven’t been, seriously, other than yoga, in several months. My mom and I keep saying we’re going to get back into our routine, because we were doing so great there for a while. I’m thankful to have somewhere that I can work out, even if it’s not my favorite thing to do, to get myself in shape and be healthier.

9. Baking. I’ve found some really great recipes lately, and I’m thankful I’ve been able to try them out with success, and share them with the people around me.

10. British men. I’ve been watching lots of British movies lately, and I’m convinced that my one true love is British. I just need to pick up and move there, if I have any hope of him finding me. I just love everything about their culture – I know it’s not terribly different than here, but still. I just love it. I want to hear those posh accents every day. I think I’m sophisticated enough to be British. One day.

Leave a Reply

