Ten Things Tuesday – November 9

9 Nov

Ten things to put in a trap if you wanted to catch me:

1. Goat cheese. I thought I’d start with the stereotypical cheese in a trap. I love almost any kind of cheese, but by far my favorite is goat cheese. I love it plain, I love it flavored, I love it on toast and on pizza and in pasta. There’s not any use of it that I don’t enjoy.

2. The Beatles. This one is kind of a given, really, if you know me or have ever read anything I’ve posted here. I won’t get into the extent of my love for them – it’s too vast and my vocabulary isn’t that large – but just know that anything Beatles-related, be it music, movies, shirts, beer glasses, playing cards, you better believe I’ll stop and look. Make it Paul McCartney, and there’s no stopping me.

3. Oil paints and new brushes. I love to smell oil paints – is that bad? Probably not healthy at all. I also love to feel the softness of new, unused paintbrushes. There’s something about running your fingers through them or rubbing them on your face like a makeup brush that just feels so fine. The smell of oils reminds me of being in studios and working and having inspiration, which has been lacking lately. And it’s not like you can just paint with oils anywhere you like – you have to have a special space for it. That makes them more mysterious and special, in my opinion. They’re just so wonderful.

4. Shoes. Let me be more specific. Fabulous shoes. Just any old crocs won’t do – they’ve got to be fun and fierce. I have a ridiculously large collection of shoes – the number, if I had any idea what it was, would be absolutely embarrassing (although nothing compared to celebrities). I can’t help it. I’m a girl. I love shoes. Maybe more than is healthy.

5. Old books. I use this term vaguely, because I want it to mean both books that are old in age and thus have that musty, well-worn smell, and also books I have read often enough for them to become old friends. Lately I’ve gotten back in the habit of reading, which I haven’t done in quite some time. It’s wonderful to have that itch; reading is the one skill that, no matter what, no one will be able to take it away from me. I’ll always have it. And I’ll always have old books.

6. Something shiny. Like Dory in Finding Nemo, I’m attracted to shiny things. Jewelry. Christmas ornaments. Mosaic mirrors. It doesn’t matter. If there’s a sparkly or reflective surface, I’m going to investigate it.

7. Harry Potter. You could just put the books in a trap, and I’d be drawn to them. You could use a working Marauder’s Map. You could physically put Harry in the trap, as well, if you like. Take your pick. Few things get me as emotional in life as this.

8. Puppies. Obviously. I mean really, who wouldn’t want to be caught in a trap full of adorable puppies?

9. A million dollars. Does this really need explaining?

10. British men. You really didn’t think I’d leave this off the list, did you? Seeing as how I’ve listed both The Beatles and Harry Potter on this list, it comes as no surprise that my favorite accented men get their own category. I don’t know what it is, but there’s just something about the accent, the attitude, the coolness of British men that I absolutely adore. Granted, most of this knowledge comes from seeing them in movies, but I like to believe this is how they really are. Please don’t ruin this fantasy by proving me wrong – I want them to always have that foreign magic that we silly American girls get caught up in.

Leave a Reply

