The Tail Bone’s Connected to the Funny Bone

4 Nov

Plinky prompt of the day: What’s the weirdest food you’ve ever eaten?

I haven’t tried too many strange foods in my life – at least not strange by Asian standards. I’ve had alligator in Louisiana, which tastes just like a tougher version of chicken. I’ve also had escargot, which was covered in so much garlic you couldn’t even tell it was snails.

But the weirdest thing I’ve ever eaten, and one of the best, is bull’s tail stew. I had this in Madrid, when we went out for tapas one night. It was kind of weird, because it’s served in little round cutlets like a mini filet. That by itself doesn’t make it weird, except that there’s definitely still tail bones in it. Or tail cartiledge, whatever it technically is. It’s sort of unsettling to eat a tail knowing full well there are still bones in it, but I guess it’s not much different than eating chicken still on the bone. Bull’s tail is some of the most tender, flavorful meat I’ve ever had. I’d highly recommend it, bones and all.

Leave a Reply

