An Open Letter to Rob Sheffield

3 Nov

This probably should have been written a few weeks ago, immediately after finishing the book. But, as life goes, there weren’t any words until now. So, to Mr. Sheffield,

Why, oh why did it take me so long to buy your book? When I first stumbled upon it about a year ago on Amazon, it was because I was browsing through other things quite similar. Love is a Mix Tape popped up in my suggestions box, and, because I’m attracted to interesting titles and am a fan of mix tapes, I clicked on it out of curiosity. I knew after reading the summary that I would like it a lot. What I didn’t realize was that I really needed to buy it immediately, because I don’t just like it. I LOVE it.

But maybe, just maybe, I wasn’t meant to read it a year ago. I’m in a totally different mindset now, one that puts me right in sync with your memoir. It’s funny how right that line is in All You Need is Love – there’s nowhere you can be that isn’t where you’re meant to be. You’re a music fan – you get it. You know how one piece of music can change your life forever, and how after that it will never be the same, and you found it at exactly the moment you most needed it. That’s how I feel about your book, completely. I wasn’t supposed to read it a year ago, when I had all the time in the world. I was supposed to read it now, when I fee rushed and practically devoured my way through it. Life’s funny like that – you go along living, minding your own business, and then something hits you like a ton of bricks, to wake you up and bring you back to reality. I think you captured that moment in your book. And your book had that same impact on me.

I’m sure you’ve heard this many times and it means absolutely nothing coming from me, someone who really doesn’t know anything about you, but knows just enough, but I am very sorry for your loss. I am so glad you have found a healthy, effective way to work through grief. It’s not easy, and most people don’t make it out on the other side in one piece. I’m thankful that you were willing to share your story with the world – to share your wife with us. She sounds like one of the coolest people to ever walk the earth, and I’m sorry she didn’t have more time. But she gets to live on forever, in your memories and your mix tapes, and on the pages of a book for those of us who didn’t know her.

Life’s funny, in the ways it brings us together and drives us apart. I’m glad I found your book, and that I read it. My mix tapes aren’t exactly put together on cassette, but I get it. I know just what you mean about the flexibility of choosing your life’s soundtrack, and how meaningful and nostalgic they become. Music brings us together in so many ways. We all have our mixes, our life’s soundtracks, playing along in the background while we write the next chapter. Thanks for sharing part of yours. If you’ll excuse me, I’m off to hit shuffle again, in the hopes of making something brilliant.

One Response to “An Open Letter to Rob Sheffield”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Paul is Undead « Confessions of a Lazy Llama - 11 November, 2010

    […] Nov Recently I professed my love for Rob Sheffield and his wonderful book Love is a Mix Tape. I’ve really been on a reading kick lately, and it has lead to some fantastic discoveries. […]

Leave a Reply

