Back in the Saddle Again

17 Oct

Now that my vacation is over, I’m really back to work full force, holding nothing back. Well, not exactly holding nothing back, but you get my point. It’s busy, and insane, and I want to be on vacation again.

I had to drive up to the Bristol Motor Speedway today (my favorite place to spend a Saturday, let me tell you…) for a fundraising event they were having up there. It’s the reason I had to come back from the beach early. I’m not entirely sure it was worth it, but hey, it’s for a good cause, and it gets us more exposure in the community. I swear, I feel famous around here, with all the events I go to and the people I meet. The fun part of the day was shooting off the air pressure potato gun with the kids – straight into the creek behind me. I really had the perfect spot for the day, being by that creek. After work my grandmother and I went out for lunch at Mellow Mushroom, which I’ve been craving again ever since Alli and I went there recently. It’s weird for just the two of us to be in the house together, which doesn’t usually happen. My parents are still out of town, so it’s just us in the house.

Tomorrow I have to go in to work for a few hours to set up for our BioFuels workshop on Monday morning. I’m really nervous to see how it will go. It’s been a lot of prep work – definitely more than a little extra – because I don’t want it to be mass chaos like what happened in Chattanooga. It’s going to be kind of a test run for the family science nights we’re going to start in the spring. Setting up tomorrow will probably take longer than you’d think – there are a lot of little parts and pieces to think about. It’s kind of a lot to know how to do every experiment, and know exactly what you need, and think ahead about any possible problems that might come up. It’s been tricky, being out of town this whole week, but I have faith that our staff and volunteers have done a great job getting things ready in my absence.

As if it wasn’t enough to just get a workshop ready, I’m going to Chemistry Day the two days right after that. I’m not doing a complicated experiment – just making lemon suds using dish detergent, baking soda, and lemon juice – but just knowing that I have to turn right around after a major project and do two days of nonstop Outreach is exhausting. I’ve been warned that it’s kind of a hectic day – not unorganized, just very busy. Lots of talking, not much time between groups. Hopefully it will go well. The Museum has been participating for several years, but this is, of course, my first time going. We’ll see what happens…

After Chemistry Day, I have an entire day of BioFuels lessons at the middle school. This will be my second-to-last classroom out there, and then I’m moving on to other schools in the area. Also on Thursday, I have a Coalition program in the late afternoon. Meaning it’s going to be a really early morning at the middle school, and then a late night. Seriously, I don’t know what I’m going to do about my hours. I’m so far ahead – I basically won’t have to work at all in December. That “overworked and underpaid” thing definitely applies to me. Every time I try to cut my hours here and there, something else pops up that keeps me totally preoccupied with work and overbooked. I really have to better manage my schedule.

Work, work, work, all the time. I shouldn’t be complaining – I do really love my job, and I’m happy to have one. It’s just that sometimes I feel like I need to focus my energy on other endeavours. Somehow it comes creeping back into my life like a bad zit – just when you think you’ve got it licked, it pops up again to interrupt your plans.

Leave a Reply

