I am Made of Blue Sky and Hard Rock and I Will Live This Way Forever

10 Oct

My glorious weekend continues. The weather is absolutey gorgeous. It’s sunny and warm outside – but just the right amount of warm and cool. Not too warm, not too cold. Sun shining bright, blue sky, leaves changing. Just perfect.

I wore a brand new dress to church this morning – and I was definitely too sexy for it, as Melody says. I had to decide between new dress and new shoes, and dress won out today. Those shoes are still calling my name, though. Few things in life make you feel so good as wearing a fabulous new dress.

My mom and I drove around town looking for a South Carolina newspaper, but of course we didn’t find any. This quest took us to the used bookstore, which is always a favorite haunt. We spent a good amount of time laying around the backyard reading, and then went for a walk later on. I don’t want weekends like this to end, ever. It’s just been so perfect, in every way.

Also, I finished Love is a Mix Tape last night. Such an amazing book – it’s been a long time since I’ve read anything that impacted me so much. I’m planning some upcoming posts about it. If you haven’t read it, you should. It’s so true – that love and life are defined by the mix of songs that make up the soundtrack. I’m just so in love with it, I’ve devoted my post title to it. It’s one of those books that stay with you long after you close the pages. Those are the best; every time you come back – and you will come back – it feels like you’re greeting an old friend.

Even though my life wasn’t very eventful, directly, in the grand scheme of things, this weekend will live in my memory as a truly great one. I hope to have many more in the coming weeks. I am made of blue sky and hard rock and I will live this way forever.

Leave a Reply

