Waiting for my Real Life to Begin

6 Oct

Plinky prompt of the day: What’s the most wasteful thing you do every day?

Without a doubt, wasting time. I spend countless, mindless hours doing nothing of importance on the internet, or watching TV. Granted, I do these things often so I won’t leave the house and be tempted to spend money, but these are not necessarily things I’m proud to call hobbies. Instead of lying around my house, doing a big bunch of nothing, I should be doing things like reading, or going to the gym, or catching up with long-lost friends.

There are definitely changes I could make in my lifestyle to be less wasteful – environmentally, that is. But no question, the biggest, and most valuable thing I waste, is time. It’s the one thing you can never get back. It keeps on ticking, ticking, ticking, into the future, as Steve Miller knows all too well. I could stand to change my habits, as far as being more conscientious of using recyclable products and cutting down on the electricity and water I use. Heck, we all could stand to do this.

But the most wasteful thing about my life is my time. There are so many better things I could be doing. This sounds like an overly-ambitious attempt at transcendentalism – constantly trying to perfect myself, which will never happen. I’m hopelessly flawed, just like the rest of you. And a cronic time-waster. What is it that I’m waiting around for? I just want to get out there and live my life!

Leave a Reply

