Ten Things Tuesday – October 5

5 Oct

This list might seem slightly negative, but that’s not the intention. We all have things we like and dislike, and this just so happens to be the latter. Here are ten things I hate that everyone else seems to like. Or, in other words, ten things I can’t jump on the bandwagon about.

1. Twilight. Sorry, ladies around the world. Vampires and werewolves aren’t real. And even if they were, they would be nothing like your precious Edward and Jacob. The writing is just terrible – I’m pretty sure I could have written something more eloquent when I was in the sixth grade. Bella has the personality of a wet mop, making her completely uninteresting and unsympathetic. I truly can’t believe how many people have been brainwashed the world over to think the series is actually of some quality or value. Let’s please get some taste, 2010. I’ve also always had a sneaking suspicion that it is, in fact, propaganda to convince girls to marry young and submit to their husband’s every wish, thereby completely losing their sense of identity and self-respect. Not doing much for the feminism movement there, guys.

2. Cheesecake. When people hear that I don’t like cheesecake, they almost murder me with their eyes. The reason I don’t like it is because I’m not a fan of cream cheese. I don’t mind cream cheese if it’s baked into something else, but in frosting, spread on a bagel, and cheesecake, I just don’t like it. I don’t know why, either. I never have. Every once in a while I’ll try it again, just to see if I’ve changed my mind. So far, that hasn’t happened. Now that I think about it, it’s really most dairy that I’m not a fan of. I love cheese and milk, but beyond that, not much. I don’t like cream cheese, or yogurt, or cottage cheese, really. Sour cream is fine and delicious on potatoes. But the strangest one, in my experience, is not liking cream cheese or cheesecake. Think of it this way: if I’m not eating it, then there’s more left for you!

3. Twitter. I just don’t understand the point. Really, who cares what I’m doing or thinking all day long? Melody says it would be hilarious and entertaining if I had one, but I’m not sure about that. I don’t think I’m quite as interesting or clever as she makes me out to be. It would be nice to get updates from my favorite celebrities, just to make them seem more real. But I don’t want to be constantly glued to my phone, waiting to see what else they’re doing. I already spend enough of my life online, without adding this one thing into it.

4. American Idol. Really guys, you gotta know when to quit. You’ve been washed up for years now.

5. The return of bad 80’s fashion. There are two people on the planet who can pull it off. One of them is Madonna, because she practically invented it. Although she’s getting a little old for it now. The other person is Rhianna, because she’s just so ballsy all the time – she can wear anything and make it look cool. But it’s one of those cools where you know you would fail miserably if you tried to copy it.

6. Those little teenage pop stars, a la Miley Cyrus, The Jonas Brothers, Demi Lovato and Justin Bieber. I’m sure if I was an eight-year-old girl, I would feel slightly different. The Disney Channel used to be so good – they actually had great shows and were fun to watch. I think the downfall came when they put Hilary Duff on there and cancelled Even Stevens. There’s no turning back now. Not to mention that now, in order to be famous, you have to have marginal talent in several areas – singing, dancing, acting, clothing lines, and perfumes. You know it’s got to be creepy to know there is a Barbie doll of you out there somewhere…

7. Hipsters. That look is so unattractive. I mean, I like a scruffy/dirty guy as much as the next girl, but not one who has disgusting curly body hair who looks like he hasn’t showered in weeks. And I could never be with a guy who I know wears smaller jeans than me. Really, you’re just hurting your chances at reproduction that way. Not to mention the fact that you look utterly ridiculous. And sleeping all day, partying all night with cheap beer and cigarettes, while you basically waste your life away? Completely unattractive.

8. Country music. Being from Tennessee, in the area where it was practically invented, this seems like a sacrilige. I just can’t stomach it, though. I find it boring and uninventive. Too manufactured and packaged. Unoriginal. If you’re going to be a musician, have the balls to at least be creative and try something new. This seemed to stop somewhere in the 70s. All the great ones are dead now…

9. Video games. I don’t want to spend hours of my life holding some game controller, talking to people hundreds of miles away about our next mission. And I think it’s killing creativity these days. Kids don’t know how to occupy themselves, because they’re so used to just having TV and video games there to babysit them. Same goes for those PSPs and Nintendo DS things. It’s so sad to see. When I was little, I played dress-up, or I read, or went outside. We didn’t watch tons of TV. And now I know to sit around after I’m finished working and just exist. I don’t have to constantly have something in my face to keep myself occupied. Kids today have no idea what this feels like. No wonder we think they all have ADD…

10. Diet Coke. It doesn’t taste like real Coke. Actually, it doesn’t taste like anything but fizzy water. And it’s terrible for you, with all the fake sugars and stuff the put into it. Please stop drinking it!

Leave a Reply

