Ten Things Tuesday – September 28

28 Sep

Ten completely random things:

1. It’s been weird doing BioFuels outreaches at my old middle school. I started there in sixth grade the very first year it was open, so it was kind of a big deal. I don’t think I’ve been back at all since I left – maybe for something my brother did up there when he went through. It’s so strange being there again. I was on the same hall for two years, so I’m realizing how little of the school I actually knew. I’m eventually going to all the sixth grade classes, so I’ll actually see more of the school now than when I was there as a student. It’s so weird, and definitely makes me realize that I’m an adult now. I did get to see my 4th and 6th grade teacher yesterday, which was fun. We didn’t get to talk much, but it was good to see her nonetheless. I think she was really surprised when I showed up to do the programs on her hallway!

2. I have spent the entire day sitting on the porch of Davy Crockett’s birthplace. I’ll do the same thing tomorrow. It’s Greene County conservation camp. The third and final camp of the month. Really, how many times can I talk about the gecko and the cockroaches in one month? At least 50. No joke.

3. I’m so excited to have all the great TV shows back! Last week was premier week, as I’m sure you’re all aware. I had to miss the Glee premier, which wasn’t a huge disappointment considering I was meeting Jason Mraz. Totally worth it. I’m so glad to have that back in my life. All those wonderful men. Really, there is not one of them who I’m not completely in love with. I’m also glad to have The Office back, too. Last season was a little slow, so it will be interesting to see how they pep it up this year – and with the apparent imminent departure of Steve Carrell. That should make things interesting…

4. Even though I often say that my life is quite boring, I think it’s gotten much more interesting lately. Although I feel like I do nothing but work, I really have some grand adventures at work. No two days are ever the same, which definitely keeps things interesting. I’m kind of looking forward to next week, when I have some time at the Museum without programs scheduled, to just do some planning and get my life organized again. Outside of work, I have done some pretty fun things lately.

5. A month from now, I’ll be 24. That sounds so much older and more mature than 23.

6. I had a dream the other night that involved Jack Shepard, from Lost. He was devastated to find out that his father died and that his wife was cheating on him – ironic that that’s really what happens on the show and what happened in my dream! Anyway, we weren’t on the island, but in the real world, and I was comforting him in his tragic loss. I didn’t hate it…

7. I really need a salted caramel hot chocolate fix. Like, immediately.

8. Plane tickets for Boston are officially bought! I’m flying up to visit Katy the middle of next month, and I just can’t wait! I can’t believe how often I’ve been on a plane the last several years. Really, I love traveling and flying. I wouldn’t want to do it every single day of my life, but frequent flying I could definitely get used to. Airport security might be a hassle, but airports are so fun! They’re great for people-watching. It will be so nice to get out of town for a long weekend, away from work, and to see Katy. Not to mention that I’ve never been to Boston before, so I’m in for an entirely new experience!

9. I’m still waiting on Coldplay to announce the release of their next album and subsequent touring schedule. They’re one of the last bands I really need to see live, and I’m getting a little impatient for that.

10. I have worn socks the past several days in a row. Not a huge deal, I know, but I hate wearing socks. Yes, they’re practical for many reasons. But I much prefer to wear shoes that do not require them, so it’s been a little different walking around with them on. It might take some getting used to, after months of not wearing them at all. Really I just want my feet to be free and unrestrained all the time.

Leave a Reply

