Right on Target

23 Sep

As all the fall fashions are starting to show up in magazines and in the stores, I’ve had some serious shopping lust lately. I don’t know what it is about having any kind of money in my pockets, but knowing that it’s there to spend is certainly enticing. I’m not a very good saver, unless there’s something I really, really want. Lately I’ve just wanted to go shopping all the time, find great new items for my wardrobe and amp up my style. What can I say, I’m a typical girl and a compulsive shopper.

Tonight I went to Target to find some new fall dresses. In going through my closet lately, I’ve discovered that I have hardly any dresses with sleeves. I’m a big sucker for sundresses, so that’s probably the culprit. And really, most cute dresses don’t have sleeves on them anyway. For whatever reason, when you put longer sleeves on a dress, at least in stores around here, they look far too matronly for someone my age. So, I headed off to Target tonight hoping to find something more cold-weather appropriate. Also, I know there’s a new designer line there, with some great prints that I really like.

Although I didn’t find any dresses I liked, I did find a couple other things that will work nicely for fall. One of them is a teal silk tank top, which is such a great color. I love jewel tones, and they’re always big in the fall. I’ll be able to wear that shirt for several different seasons. I also got a purple and polka dot cardigan, which is some of the pattern that I’ve been trying to incorporate into my life. I also got a leather jacket – well, not real leather, because I can’t afford the real stuff, and also because I haven’t decided where I stand on those issues. I’m sure my mom will be really confused by this – leather isn’t really my style. But I decided I need some more edge to my look, so I found a great leather, military-inspired jacket with an asymmetrical zipper. I can’t wait for it to get cold enough that I can wear it.

I also sort of walked out of Target with the second half of the first season of Glee…although that certainly is an essential. I don’t know what I would do without that in my life now. Seriously, why did it take me so long to jump on that bandwagon?

So, the great dress hunt continues. Hopefully I’ll have some time this weekend to look for some. I’m planning on pulling out my fall and winter clothes then, too, so then I’ll be able to tell what other things I need. Or I just need to find a more wallet-friendly habit…

Leave a Reply

