Offline

13 Sep

Plinky prompt of the day: Could you live without the internet for a month?

The short answer is, probably not. I spend a vast majority of my time online, which is not good – I should be out actually living my life. If I were to spend an entire month disconnected, there’s probably a lot I would miss. How many engagements and pregnancies would be announced on Facebook that would go unnoticed (and really, who would care? If I don’t hear it firsthand, it’s probably not important enough to me.) How would my bank account fair without internet shopping? I suspect rather well, although there are still, of course, actual stores I could go into.

I’d have to go off somewhere wild and primitive to live without the internet. I mean, you can practically find it anywhere you want. I’d have to go on a vacation to some remote island somewhere, or get knocked into a parallel universe where it doesn’t exist. No, the bottom line is, I highly doubt I would make it. It would make a rather fascinating experiment, but I just don’t think I could. I’d fail just out of habit. My default activity is browsing online, to fill the time between working and sleeping. I’m hopelessly addicted to technology. That sounds terrible, but I fully admit to it.

I’m sure my personal relationships would highly benefit from this, though. Nothing better than a face-to-face interaction with someone you love. Although, for all my faraway friends, the internet is quite convenient.

Leave a Reply

