Saltydog

30 Aug

I don’t know why, but I’ve been craving salty snacks recently. Why is that? Why do you go through phases where you love some foods more than others? I’ve stocked my office with pretzels, Cheez-its, club crackers, Wheat Thins (basil-parmesan, sun-dried tomato…), and saltines. Oh, saltines. I could eat an entire box – four sleeves – in one day. Not healthy, I know. But they’re so delicious. I’m chomping my way through a sleeve right now…

Also, peanut butter. I’m so into peanut butter right now. Why? I have no idea. I like it on sandwiches and on ice cream, but other than that not so much. Not peanut butter cookies, not peanut butter pie, not straight out of the jar with a spoon. Except for lately. I’ve been eating a lot more peanut butter. I have no idea why. It’s very convenient to dip my pretzels and saltines into while working…

I guess you could say that, instead of a sweet tooth, I currently have a salty tooth. I’ve found that when you have salty and savory cravings, they are usually followed by a sweet craving, and vice versa. The best cure for this, in my experience, is Honey Nut Chex Mix. It’s the perfect blend of sweet and salty – honey, vanilla and sugar with plenty of salt and spice. It’s delicious. I think I’ve just talked myself into buying a bag…

Leave a Reply

