Zombieland

28 Aug

As if my life wasn’t already boring enough and completely centered around work, here we go with yet another work-related update. Yesterday was an especially busy day for me. It was my last day of sleeping in and coming in to work at 1:00. It turned out to be kind of a short day, though. I had an outreach at Coalition yesterday afternoon, which conflicted with being out at the fair. Luckily, I found a board member at the last minute who could be out there to man the booth. After my outreach was over, I went straight out to the fair to work for the rest of the night. I wasn’t there for fifteen minutes when suddenly I became violently ill. It was hot, I was dehydrated, and I was stuck. There wasn’t much I could do to relieve myself. I knew my stomach wasn’t going to cooperate, so I ended up having to leave. The board member was really supportive and understanding, though. I felt terrible – physically, of course, but also that I was basically abandoning him. I thanked him and apologized profusely, and just asked him to stick everything in the booth back in the corner after his shift was over. I headed home, but didn’t make it in time before my stomach exploded. It wasn’t pretty – let’s just say that throwing up on yourself while you are driving is not something I’d wish on my worst enemy. You know you have a good dad when he cleans your disgusting car while you shower and soak your clothes. It was such a disaster.

I was supposed to go to some bar downtown and see a concert last night with Amanda and her friends, which of course didn’t end up happening. I spent the rest of my night lying in bed, watching movies and sleeping. It sucks, though, because I still have to pay for that concert ticket that I didn’t even get to use. Not cool – at least it wasn’t terribly expensive. But still, when you don’t even get to enjoy the event you paid for, it doesn’t really seem worth it to buy the ticket in the first place. My first night of fun and having social plans in quite a while, and my stomach decides otherwise.

After such a disastrous night, I was hoping today would go at least a little bit better, and it did. I slept in, laid around the house for a bit, then went to get my hair cut. It’s been forever since I’ve had it cut – since the First Friday in April when I got a $10 haircut downtown. I went back to the same girl who did it before – she did such an amazing job! I’ve never gotten so many compliments on a haircut before, that I just had to go back to her again. I really like the way it turned out – I took her a picture of Ginnifer Goodwin with kind of a long pixie/bob type haircut, so it turned out cute. I didn’t get too much cut off this time – I want to grow it out long again.

Had to go back to the fair again tonight for the last time. Hooray! I’m so glad to have this exhausting week overwith – it’s seemed to go on forever! My mom came out to the fair with me tonight. I think she had a good time – she stayed in the booth with me for a bit while it cooled down, then walked around some to see the exhibits and the animals. She ended up seeing a lamb show, which she’d never seen before. I think that’s the fascinating part of the fair – the farmers who have such a different experience than the ride operators or the food vendors. It’s got to be overwhelming for the kids who do that stuff. Secretly, I wouldn’t mind finding myself a good-looking Texas cowboy and moving to his ranch. Probably not going to happen, though, but there’s something so rugged and manly about that. Anyway, after walking around a while, my mom came back and helped me with the booth for the rest of the night. We shut down and went walking a little bit. Amanda and Rachel met us out there a little later. My mom bought a funnel cake and then headed home, while the rest of us stayed for a bit. We didn’t end up doing much – we bought some fried Oreos (which neither Amanda nor Rachel had had before, but both really liked), and stood in line forever to ride the ferris wheel. This wasn’t so tedious because we stood people-watching for forever.

It’s certainly interesting the people you see at the fair – there are all kinds. It definitely makes you feel better about yourself! The girl who cut my hair was telling me about the movie Zombieland, how all the carnival lights attract the zombies out from their hiding places. That’s exactly what it’s like at the fair – sometimes you’re not even sure what you’re looking at is actually human… After we rode the ferris wheel, we went home. It was the last night, and just too crowded to really do anything and enjoy it. Too bad, because I do like going to the fair and riding the rides. It’s fun as long as it’s not too busy, and it just was too much to enjoy it tonight.

I’m so glad to have an entire day off tomorrow – nothing to do with work all day long! No more fair booth! New haircut to enjoy! Even though my life is mundane, it’s still fun sometimes. Today was much better than yesterday, and hopefully tomorrow will be better than today.

Leave a Reply

