Who Says

24 Jul

It’s been a little over a week since the John Mayer concert, and I’m just now finding the time to really sit down and write about it. As usual, it was amazing. This was the 5th time I’ve seen him in concert, and he really just gets better every time. Of course, this concert was really similar to the one I saw back in February, because he’s still on the same tour. But hey, twice in one year can definitely not be bad!

Driving in to Charlotte, we were a little worried about the weather. It was rainy and even stormy in some areas. With the concert being in an outdoor amphitheater, we were a little worried that it might be cancelled. Luckily for us, the weather held out. It wouldn’t have mattered much anyway – our seats were under the front, covered area of the amphitheater. Amanda, Rachel and I all went. We left work early and drove down in the afternoon. We ran into some traffic, which was annoying but didn’t really put us too much behind. We got there just in time to check into our hotel and have dinner. We went to the Macaroni Grill, which I’d never been to before. I know, I know, that’s real high-class. I’ve traveled and seen lots of great things, but never before been to Macaroni Grill. It was delicious – I couldn’t tell you what I got, but I liked it a lot. You pretty much can’t mess up Italian food!

We ran into some more traffic driving into the concert, and we ending up completely missing Train, the opening act. I was a little bummed about that, but not too bad. I know Amanda had really wanted to see them, so I was a little sad for her that we missed it. But at least we didn’t miss the main event!

John really is an amazing guitar player. If you’ve never seen him live, I highly recommend it. I mean, would I go see him this often if he wasn’t worth the money? Even if you’re not the biggest fan of his music, he’s still amazing to watch life because of all the random jamming he does onstage – you can really tell he loves his guitars. The venue was really great – other than concerts at Converse, I’ve never been to an outdoor one like that, and definitely not at an amphitheater. I’d love to go back and see another concert there – it was a great place for a summer concert. We really lucked out on the weather – by the time he started, it wasn’t raining anymore, and in fact the sun had come out somewhat! Even though it was humid, there was a nice breeze that really made it nice out.

One of my favorite things he did was a cover of Ain’t No Sunshine. I can’t remember if I took a video of that or not – I don’t think I did. I wouldn’t mind if he came out with a recording of that. It’s such a great song, and he’s so great, that it couldn’t possibly be bad. I’m already starting to think about the next time I see him live. I mean, I really should hold off, just so I don’t deplete the magic. And not to mention that Paul McCartney is about a week away, and I’m sure that will completely blow me away. John is definitely the artist I’ll go anywhere to see. I love him, hands down.

I wish I could find the words to really do this justice, but there just don’t seem to be any good ones. I’d love to go into more detail about the concert; it’s not that I don’t remember it, but more like I can’t fully express how great it is. Of course he played all the best songs from his latest album, as well as a few fan favorites from years past. All his albums have been really different, to me, anyway. On his latest one, you can really feel the heartbreak and the heartache he’s experienced. He’s been through a battle and come out on the other side. I think we all do that, in some way or another. It’s not always necessarily about love, but we’re all fighting our own battles. Music is definitely one of the best ways to get yourself through that, and I’m so glad I have such a rich, fulfilling relationship with it in my life.

Leave a Reply

