Give Up the Funk

12 Jun

My current Facebook status says that I am suffering from wanderlust, restlessness, complacency and boredom. I don’t think anything else could better describe my feelings right now. A few weeks ago, Glee did an episode with funk music – talking about how people can get into a funk. That’s how I’ve been feeling lately. I just feel like I’m stagnant in my life.

I’ve got to do something to get myself out of this funk! Shake things up a bit, take a road trip, do something unexpected. My life has fallen into a pattern – and not that there’s anything wrong with having a routine, but it’s just gotten boring at the moment. I do really like my life, don’t get me wrong. I really love my job – it’s challenging and fulfilling, and it definitely keeps me busy! I like living with my parents, because it definitely cuts down on the expenses and gives me people to talk to. The downside of that, though, is that there’s not quite the same amount of privacy like there is when you have your own place. As mundane as it sounds, I’m ready to have a place to call my own, where I can decorate any way I want, cook my own meals, do my own laundry. I know I shouldn’t complain about it, because I have it pretty easy. But there just comes that time in your life when you want to be out on your own, and do your own thing for a while. I’m feeling like that time is now for me.

I know this won’t be my life forever, but sometimes it seems that way. There are so many people I know doing amazing things right now – traveling, going to school, getting married – in a way I almost feel left behind. But there’s nothing for me to complain about – my life is really great as it is, and really I wouldn’t switch with anyone for anything. I guess I’m just feeling like I’m ready for my next adventure. I’ve gotten into a routine and found my place, and now it’s time to shake things up a bit.

I’d love to go visit Mallory in Belize, and see what she’s up to with the Peace Corps. She’ll be there for a while still, so I have plenty of time to save up for that. I’ve never been to Central or South America before, and I think it would be amazing. Beautiful beaches, great food – what more could you ask for?

As for the complacency thing, I just feel like I’ve gotten into that funk of working just because it’s work. I do enjoy it, but I have a hard time holding myself back and balancing having a social life. Not that there are tons of people around here that I socialize with, but I do think I need a better balance of that in my life. I need to learn how to say “no” to things at work, and not overbook myself. I have plenty to do as it is, without working myself into the ground to the point of exhaustion. That wouldn’t be good, considering I’ll still be doing this for about a year. I’ve made a promise to myself to not grow complacent, to never quit growing or learning, or looking for adventure. I want to actually go out and live my life, rather than just sitting around on my couch watching TV or just going to the gym when I get home from work. That’s a routine, and albeit a healthy one, can grow tiresome after a while.

I think I’m also feeling this way because it’s summer, when you should be taking a vacation, getting away from it all, and having fun for a while before responsibility catches up to you again. Now that I’m not currently in school, and have to live in the real world, I realize how great it really is to be a student. Yeah, you’re poor as dirt and can’t do anything, and you have to study and do work all the time, but at least you’re constantly around people your own age, and there’s an energy to it you don’t find anywhere else. Now I go to bed fairly early and get up at a regular time, and then work all day, come home and repeat. It’s mundane, but I guess it works for now.

I need to do something different for a bit. Take a road trip. Get lost somewhere, make new friends. Find something else to do for a little bit, before I just explode with adventurousness waiting to get out of me!

Leave a Reply

