Ten Things Tuesday – June 8

8 Jun

Top ten favorite places to shop:

1. Anthropologie. I think we all know how severe my addiction to this store is. If not, let me enlighten you. I love it with all my heart. I drool over the website on a daily basis and lust after the catalogue when it arrives at my house monthly. I love everything about it – the colors, the shapes, the prints, the design. It’s just a special, unique place. The only thing I’m not in love with is the price. I definitely have to save up for a shopping trip there. It’s totally worth it, don’t get me wrong. But lower prices would be the one thing to make this store absolutely perfet.

2. Target. I’m not a fan of Wal-Mart at all. I think they’re a terrible, unethical company, and their treatment of women is awful. I much prefer shopping at Target, for several reasons: their stores are always clean, their merchandise doesn’t look or feel as cheap as what you get in other superstores, they’re environmentally concerned, and they are quite a philanthropic company.  If I had my way, I would buy from local shops all the time. But we seem to be running low on them in this country, so Target provides a good alternative for me. Yes, they’re still a mass-produced discount superstore, and they have plenty of flaws. But I still believe they are superior. I’ll take them any day.

3. Barnes and Noble. Every time I go into one of their stores, I instantly wish I had enough money to buy one for myself. I love books – what could be better than my own private store filled with them?

4. Ten Thousand Villages. A unique store that sells handmade items from all over the world – everything from purses to journals and earrings to home decor. It’s so earthy-feeling, and it makes me feel connected to artisans all over the world. Plus, their proceeds benefit people in developing countries.

5. Forever 21. They always have trendy, funky clothes and jewelry. I love to go in there and look for costume jewelry and other great pieces you can layer. Not a high-quality place, but still great for adding something special to an outfit.

6. Amazon. There’s really no place better to get used books or movies. Except maybe ebay, but there’s often that pesky bidding factor to consider. With Amazon, you know you’re getting something in really good condition for a good price. And you’re helping one man get rid of his trash when you find your treasure!

7. H&M. Oh, how I wish I lived somewhere with one of these stores. I’ve only encountered them in New York or on travels abroad, and I’m in love. There’s nothing better than looking like a million bucks, when really your outfit cost about $100. Their prices aren’t outrageous, and they have some adorable things. Really greta for those of us with good stylish taste, but not necessarily the cash to blow on designer duds! Love, love, love them!

8. Earth Fare. Kind of like Whole Foods or Fresh Market. Really, you could just put them all in the same category. They have amazing selections of organic and local foods that I’ve been trying to get my family to eat. Everything tastes so fresh and good for you – and often it goes to support worthy causes! There are few things in life I love as much as gourmet cheeses and freshly baked breads. I should have been a chef in a past life. My mouth is watering just thinking about all that food!

9. Mast General Store. They have super cute outdoorsy clothing, great shoes and camping gear, and all the old-fashioned candy you can eat! It’s such a fun place to go. This is another store I wish we had closer to home. It makes me want to give up everything and hike the Appalachian Trail for a few months.

10. Bed Bath and Beyond. Not that I really need anything from here. But sometimes I like to walk around and pretend like I have a gift registry, and I’m filling it up with all the kitchen gadgets I’d like to have to cook. I wonder about how I would decorate my house and how fun it would be to be able to bake all the time, and have an adult life. One day…

Leave a Reply

