This is It vs. Is This It?

23 May

What a fun weekend it’s been! It’s been a while since I’ve had an entire weekend off, to do just what I want, and I took full advantage of it. I spent the day in Knoxville yesterday with Andy, celebrating his graduation. He had a graduation party in the afternoon, and then graduation that evening. I’d never been to a graduation at night before – I think it really made him nervous to have so much time waiting around during the day!

I drove down to Knoxville early yesterday afternoon for his party. It was kind of a drop-in thing, at the clubhouse of a neighborhood where his mom is the realtor. It was supposed to be a pool party, but the water was so cold that no one ended up swimming! I met a lot of his family there – too many to keep up with! Most just kind of came and went as they could – there weren’t ever tons of people there at once. I felt kind of awkward (as I do in most social situations), but everyone was really friendly, which made it easier. There was a slide show playing of pictures of him and his family, which was really cute. He also had his art portfolio playing on another computer, which I thought was a really good idea. I’d already seen it, but I know everyone really appreciated getting to see all his work over the last year.

Having driven from out of town, of course I stayed for the whole party. Toward the end, he opened his cards and presents; I had gotten him a set of paintbrushes, some pencils and other drawing supplies, and a brush holder. He really loved it! I always feel kind of weird buying art supplies for other people, because you never know what they already have, or what they really like to use. But I guess I made some good choices because he thought it was great. After the party, we made a quick stop by his house so he could change for graduation and get his robes and everything. We headed downtown, to the Thompson-Boling arena. There were tons and tons of people down there! It took me forever to find his family again once we got inside. I finally found them, just as everyone started processing in. There were between 500 and 600 graduates, so I was expecting a long ceremony. It wasn’t nearly so long, though, because they really sped through the names. The last graduation I went to was my own, a year ago, so it was different to be on the other side of it. The ceremony was pretty nice, though, as they go.

Afterward we waited for Andy to get his official diploma and meet us back upstairs. There were a few pictures, then we left to have a late dinner. We went out to a pretty nice place – me and his parents, his sister and her boyfriend, and his grandparents. I had a really good sandwich with turkey, bacon, goat cheese, and avocado on it, with some sweet potato fries on the side. It was delicious! I had some leftovers that I ate for lunch today.

Even though I kind of felt weird and awkward going down there – as I do in everyday life – it was still really fun. I was really surprised but excited that he invited me, and I’m just glad I was able to go down and support him. It’s always nice to be a good friend! I drove back really late last night, and have just been relaxing for the last day of my weekend. It’s a busy week coming up for me, so I have to prepare myself for it! Although it was a really great weekend – I’m glad I got to have some “me” time for a change. It was most excellent.

Leave a Reply

