Under Pressure

13 May

Today was my last day at West View for Outreach programs. I went to a sixth grade class and did the Air Pressure program. I’d never done it before, but it was really a lot of fun. It’s amazing to see all the cool things you can do with science. It’s almost like magic, but really there’s a way to explain how everything works. I really enjoyed doing that program – we got to pop the top off a test tube using Alka Seltzer, shoot a potato gun, and vacuum-seal ourselves in a trash bag (heads exposed, of course!). I was really nervous doing that program today, because I’d never done it. And in fact I’d never even seen anyone else do it at the Museum, either. But I’ve learned that you really just have to “fake it til you make it,” and no one will know the difference. Half the time I feel like I don’t really know what I’m doing, and just kind of wing it and make it up as I go along. It usually works out OK in the end, as long as you have the confidence to pull it off! As long as you just look like you know what you’re doing, most of the time people will believe it. And so far, that’s been true for me. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep that up when I go and do other progams.

It’s been a fun week, but I’m glad it’s over now. Having three different Outreaches in a row at the same school is kind of hectic. It’s nice the second and third days, though, because by then you kind of know where you’re going to get to the school and how long it will take you to get there, where you’re going once you get to the school, and you know a little more about the students. Middle school is always a tough age, because they have attitudes and hormones that younger kids just don’t have yet, so it’s challenging. There were three very different groups this wekk, and I think for the most part they enjoyed the programs. None of them was too terrible, so that was at least a plus.

So, it’s been a busy week, headed into the weekend. Although the work is far from over, because tomorrow I’m headed to Nashville for National AmeriCorps Week. Our entire AmeriCorps group is going down there to help with flood relief. I’ve got to get home and pack up all my stuff. We’re not going for very long – just overnight, so I won’t need much stuff. But we’re going to be helping with the flood victims over there, so I have a feeling we’ll be getting pretty dirty. I’ll finally be getting my AmeriCorps shirts this weekend, which I’ve been missing ever since I started the program! I’m a little nervous about going down there, because I’ve only ever met everyone in the program. And really, not even all of them. They seem like a nice enough group of people, so hopefully it will go well and not be that awkward. It’s just always weird whenever you go on a trip and you have to room with people you haven’t really met before. We’ll see.

I’m also planning to see Akinya while I’m down there. We have some free time tomorrow night after everything is over and we’re checked into the hotel, so we’re meeting up in downtown Nashville. She doesn’t really hang out up there a lot, so I don’t really know what we’re going to do. Probably go to some bar or something like that for a while. Mostly, we’re just excited to get to see each other again!

Leave a Reply

