Spring Break

16 Apr

This week has been so hectic, but also nice because my mom has been out for spring break. We’ve gone to lunch the last three days, which is such a novelty. Having a parent who teaches means you can’t meet up in the middle of the day, can’t have lunch, can’t really even talk on the phone. So it’s been nice to have her out so we can have lunch together. I feel like I’m introducing her to lots of good downtown dining! Sometimes I wish everyone would have the attitude about spring break that they do on Arrested Development – that everything, not just schools, should shut down for a week and have a vacation. That’s something I miss about school, is having those breaks from life every once in a while! Once you get out into the real world, there aren’t any more breaks from life!

In other news, James got into pharmacy school! It took forever for him to find out, but it was definitely worth the wait. I’m sure he’s relieved to know that his hard work has paid off. My parents are leaving today to go down to Columbia to take him out to celebrate – and also to go look at an apartment he and his roommates are considering living in next year. So, it’s just me and my grandmother for the night. My parents don’t go out of town very often, so it’s kind of weird when it’s just me and my grandmother at the house together. I think we’re going to dinner tonight at Cootie Brown’s. I haven’t been there in forever! I’ve missed it so much – and since I haven’t worked there in a while I can’t eat there as often as I would like to.

This is kicking off my insane weekend – I’ve got Healthy Kids Day up in Kingsport tomorrow, and Earth Day here at the Museum on Sunday. I can’t believe it’s finally here – these past few months of planning have gone by so fast! I think the event will go off pretty well, but it’s one of those things where you dread it actually happening. I mean, I want it to be overwith, but don’t actually want to go through with it. I don’t have much choice, though, as time will fly on no matter how hard to wish it wouldn’t. In a few days, though, it will all be overwith and I can relax a little! I’ve spent the last few days in the Museum gathering all the supplies we need for the activities – you would not believe how much stuff it takes to pull off something like this! Girl Scouts sure can get messy! I’ve told everyone here that I really feel like a hoarder – I know I look ridiculous walking around with boxes and tons of stuff all the time. I think everytime I’ve walked up or downstairs today I’ve been carrying something. I’m definitely getting my exercise in, which will come in handy considering that I probably won’t make it to the gym at all in the next few days!

I don’t know what I’m going to do with myself once this is all over, but I’m sure there will be something! There’s always something to do around here. I’m almost through my 17-day work marathon without a break. It can’t come soon enough!

Leave a Reply

