Ten Things Tuesday – April 6

6 Apr

Ten things I’d go back in time for:

1. Beatlemania in the 1960s. We all know how much I love them. I’m pretty sure that, had I been alive circa 1964, I would have been one of those swooning, hysterical fainting fangirls. At least their music is immortal, and I can live with it forever.

 

2. Ancient Greece. Just to find out if all those myths about the gods and goddesses were actually true. I’m sure that togas were incredibly comfortable, too.

 

3. Paris in the late 19th century. Montmartre, Toulouse-Lautrec, opium, Chanel, and absinthe. I’m sure these things weren’t as glamorous as I think they were. I have such romantic notions about the French.

 

4. Paris in the 1920s and 30s. Picasso, Rodin, and Matisse were all there. Not to mention the wonderful Chanel. Abstraction and Impressionism and philosophy galore. Really one of the greatest times as far as the development of modern art and thought. The only time period, artfully speaking, that could compare to Paris about 40 years before.

 

5. Florence in the Renaissance. How incredible would it be to see the works of Michelangelo and Leonardo in the making, as well as all that Medici glamour? All that flamboyant and ostentatious display of wealth…I’d go for it. Not to mention getting to see that time-consuming process of making your own oil paints.

 

6. The Middle East at the time of Jesus. I do believe the Bible to be true, and it would be so cool to actually see those events unfold. Probably terrifying, as well, but still interesting. Not that I need to see it for proof, but what person of faith wouldn’t actually want to walk with Jesus for real, other than just metaphorically?

 

7. London in the 1500s, to watch a Shakespeare premier at the Globe. Not that I would understand a word of it, but it would be so cool to know I was really watching one of the most famous writers in history, as it was happening.

 

8. 1600s to 1700s on the high seas. I’d be a pirate. I probably wouldn’t last long.

 

9. Hollywood in the 1930s or 40s. Those golden years of Hollywood glamour, when people were still classy. There’s just something so elegant and sophisticated about the women of that era. I think of it as a time when men were men and women were ladies. How I wish we would get back to that. They just don’t make them that way anymore.

 

10. Of course, I’d want to go back and give my younger self advice, to maybe change some things that have happened in my life. I’d probably think I was crazy, though, and completely mess up the time-space continuum. Maybe it would work, though. There’s always that desire to changethe past, and those thoughts of “What If” that linger as you get older. I think many people share this wish. Other than trying to change mistakes in the past, I might tell my relatives to invest in Google.

Leave a Reply

