I Have Not Lost My Muchness

3 Apr

It’s quite a busy day over here during this Easter weekend! We’re getting ready for Easter tomorrow by making lots of delicious food. I’m in charge of making my special lemon curd cake and Ramen noodle cole slaw, two of my favorites! Making the cake took up most of the afternoon, so I made the cole slaw while the cake was baking. I really enjoy getting to make lemon curd cake – it’s kind of become my signature dessert. It makes me feel like an actual person that I can make something to contribute to a holiday. I haven’t had that Ramen cole slaw in such a long time – I can’t wait to have some after church tomorrow. I love holidays that are good excuses to eat, even though I really shouldn’t be splurging right now. My calorie count for April is going to be through the roof. No matter, though. I’ll get back on track.

On top of all this cooking and getting ready for Easter, I’ve had a lot going on with work and friends and family. I finally went to get my hair cut yesterday! It’s so cute – I’ll have to put up a picture soon. It’s so short, though. Maybe a little shorter than I had intended, but I do really like it. I decided to go down to a new place, that’s actually across the street from the Museum. It’s just this little salon in a building downtown, and they were doing special $10 haircuts for First Friday. You can’t really beat a haircut for $10, so I decided to check it out. It’s been forever since I’ve had a haircut – probably months. So it was definitely time for a change. I took some pictures of Ginnifer Goodwin and Audrey Tautou, both of whom I’ve always thought have adorable hairstyles. So anyway, it’s now in a cute little bob, and I think I might have a new place to go get haircuts! It’s nice that I can support another downtown business, too. I’m still getting used to it – I can’t even put it back into a ponytail anymore! – but I think I might keep this for a while.

Last night Amanda and I went to see Alice in Wonderland, finally! I’ve wanted to see it for so long, but had no one to go with. My mom isn’t the biggest fan of Tim Burton, but I’ve been dying to see it ever since I saw previews like a year ago. We didn’t get to see it in 3D, which I’m sure would have been amazing. But it was still really good. I’m definitely going to have to get that one when it comes out on DVD. I thought it was a really interesting take on the story – it was actually a story rather than just some seemingly random events happening in a bizarre adventure.

It was a little hectic getting to the movie yesterday, because we went to the Good Friday service at church. I had to sneak out a little early to make it to the movie, but Amanda ended up being a little late anyway. I felt a little bad leaving church early to go do something like a movie, but I really, really wanted to see Alice. Amanda brought her friend Jason along, who I’ve heard a lot about but never met before. He was really nice, and we all went over to Amanda’s house to hang out for a while after the movie was over. Her friend Marcia also came over for a while. We just went back to her apartment until really late, so I really slept in this morning.

It’s my parents’ anniversary today, so they went out for dinner at their favorite Mexican restaurant. I went to Amanda’s house to have dinner and watch a movie. We got one of those Papa Murphy’s pizzas that you take home and bake. They are so yummy – almost better than delivery pizza. And definitely better than frozen pizzas. Anyway, I’ve had a lot of fun at Amanda’s the last few nights. We watched Forgetting Sarah Marshall last night, which was kind of funny, but just OK. Not really the kind of thing I usually enjoy too much. So now, I’m back home, happy to wear my new Easter dress tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

