Outreach Update

20 Mar

The gecko and I have been spending quite a bit of time together recently. Today we went to Greeneville for a parenting fair down there, and she was a big hit. Most people hadn’t ever been to the Museum before, so I was able to really give out some good information about everything we offer. And of course, everyone liked meeting Raja. It was a long day for her, but she got several breaks and naps throughout the day. Even when she was taking a rest, there were people who wanted to come up and see her.

It was a long, busy day, but I think it went well. I was able to meet a lot of people and promote the museum, which is what I’ve been hired to do. Sometimes I don’t feel like I’m very eloquent, but I do really enjoy talking about all the different programs we have. We’ve been around for so long, it’s hard to imagine that people haven’t ever been to visit us before, but then again not everyone lives so close. I think I’m really going to enjoy going to all these fairs and events. It’s certainly a lot of planning to make sure I have all the brochures and stuff I need to have a successful event, but it’s worth it.

Raja was so funny in the car today. I don’t know how often she’s ridden in cars in her carrying cage, but she was so funny! She would pace all around it, and climb up to look out the top of the cage, and sometimes she would even stare at me! I have no idea what’s going through that gecko’s mind, but she’s always so curious. She really does remind me of a cat. If the Museum ever needs to find another home for her, I’ll gladly take her. I really enjoy taking her on these types of events. She’s just so easy-going. She definitely makes my job a lot easier!

Leave a Reply

