365 Days Later

18 Mar

Today is the one-year mark for my Project 365 blog. An entire year’s worth of pictures, one for each day. Granted, I didn’t quite stick to the original plan, which was that I would take all the pictures. I had to search online for some of them, when there wasn’t any other option. Or when I just felt lazy. But I’m glad to have stuck it out. I’ve always been goal-oriented, and I live my life by lists. But I’ve never had a goal quite like this before: something to work for each day, to look for beauty in everything, and to stretch my creativity. I don’t know how well I held up that idea, but it was fun trying.

It’s hard to believe that it’s been an entire year already. It was quite an adventure, one that took me down so many different, unexpected paths. It was, all in all, a good year. I’m glad to have that year’s worth of pictures to come back to.

For the coming year, I’ve decided to chronicle my life in a similar way. Only this time, every picture will be of me or of my outfit for the day. I was inspired by this website: http://whatiwore2day.blogspot.com/. I fully admit that this was her idea, and not mine, and that I’m borrowing it for the next year. So thanks, Kasmira!

It might sound selfish to have an entire blog devoted to pictures of myself, but this is a project for me. Something to strive for every day. Yeah, the concept sounds vain. But it’s my attempt to hold myself accountable to look presentable and up to Stacy and Clinton’s standards. And it’s not about broadcasting my fashion sense (which hopefully will improve with time), but also to document my journey over the next year. When I really think about it, I don’t have that many recent pictures of myself. Now I’ll have an entire year’s worth to choose from. I’m not bragging about myself, but I just want to put that little piece of myself out there. It’s going to be a challenge to put a new version of myself out there every day, but to hold myself accountable to always put forward the best version of myself. I’ve come a long way – mentally and physically – in the last year, and I’m going to celebrate that.

I want to develop my own sense of personal style. I wouldn’t say that’s something I currently have, but something I always strive to work toward. I do think I have good taste, but now it’s just the matter of putting that into practice. I’m starting to feel like an actual adult, so I want to look like one. I think it’s about time I really explored my sense of style and figure out how I present myself to the world.

So here’s to a self-centered project with a happy, holistic goal. Here’s to trying new things, and putting your best foot forward. And to having the best year ever.

Leave a Reply

