Olympics

19 Feb

I just can’t express how much I love the Olympics. Such a wonderful, unique event. There’s just not really anything else like it. Nothing that gives me the same kind of chills when I watch it, and think about how incredible it must be to be a part of it as an athlete. It’s amazing enough to be a part of it as a spectator, one of the millions glued to my TV, feeling connected to the world like nothing else.

I think that’s probably the biggest feeling I get – the feeling that I’m really part of something bigger, better than I could have imagined on my own. It’s part of the human experience. So many heartwarming stories of joy and sacrifice and true human spirit, all rolled into two weeks of competition. I’m not a competitive person by nature, but I love to see the unity something on such a grand scale can bring. I’m a big Olympic fan.

For sure, I want to go to British Columbia someday. It looks so lush and vibrant and untouched. Just what you’d expect the great wilderness to be. I could get lost up in the woods there for a few weeks. Hole up in a cabin with some good friends, go hiking, canoeing, swimming, or just sit around and enjoy the beauty of nature. Yep. I could get used to that.

Leave a Reply

