Edgar Sawtelle

15 Feb

I started a new book today: The Story of Edgar Sawtelle. I had been reading another book for a while, but kind of lost interest in it. It had potential, but was a bit heavy for casual reading. I’ll get back to it someday, but for now, I want something that’s a little easier to get wrapped up in. That, and on the offchance they ask me anything about reading in my grad school interviews, I want to be prepared. I think the last book I finished was The Da Vinci Code. And while it was thrilling and fun to read, I wanted to be able to say I read something a little more intellectual and not so much filled with conspiracy theories about art. I don’t want to find out if that’s a good or bad thing at an art school.

So anyway, I started reading Edgar Sawtelle. I’m not very far at all, but it’s already interesting. The family raises a ficticious breed of dog, which only makes me want a dog even more. The dogs are known for their fierce loyalty and companionship. Watching all this Animal Planet lately, and reading this book, really makes me want to get another dog. For some unexplained reason, though, my dad has said he doesn’t want another one. Doesn’t want the “responsibility” of it. I mean, you do have to be responsible to take care of a dog. But come one. We’re all adults here, and we had a dog for years. I don’t know what he’s thinking by saying that, because we all want one, and we all know we’ll take care of it. I guess we’ll just have to keep working on him.

I’m excited to start this book. My boss saw me reading it and said it’s really good. I’ve wanted to read it for a while, but just haven’t gotten around to it. I hope it’s everything that I love about reading!

Leave a Reply

