Are You Vancouvered?

12 Feb

Tonight is the opening ceremonies of the Winter Olympics in Vancouver. I had forgotten just how much I really enjoy watching them. I haven’t seen them since they were in Salt Lake in 2002. I feel like I missed out on an entire generation of Olympic athletes. I don’t know what I was doing in 2006, but I have definitely missed winter sports in my life.

I’m excited to watch all the events this year. I’m probably going to be completely obsessed with it, to the point where I might not get much accomplished over the next two weeks. There might not be much blogging going on, and if it is, there’s a good chance it will be post-dated. I don’t expect it to be such a huge deal as the Beijing games – after all, what could possibly top that spectacle. But still, I am getting excited for it, and I’m ready to be inspired.

Seeing all these commercials really makes me want to go to Vancouver. I have heard that it’s one of the best places in the world to live. Everything in British Columbia just looks so clean and beautiful and big. Of course they’ll show all the best scenery in commercials to make you want to go there, and I’m a total sucker for it. I most definitely want to go there someday. It looks like the perfect place to have a great big-city experience and then head outdoors for a while.

I’m a particularly big fan of figure skating and ski jumping and short track skating. I admit that I’m a fan of short track because of Apolo Ohno, but he’s really done a lot to raise awareness of his sport and show people what it’s all about. It has to be one of the most exciting and nail-biting things to watch. You just never know what’s going to happen. Everything looks OK, and then a wipeout. It’s intense. Really, about the only thing I can’t get into is curling. I don’t know much about it or really understand it, but other than that, I’ll watch pretty much anything else they’re doing out there in the snow.

I’m ready for an exciting and emotional two weeks. I tend to tear up a lot at hearing inspiring stories and watching greatness. And, seeing as that’s what the Olympics are all about, it gets me teary-eyed sometimes. I’ll keep the Kleenexes handy.

Leave a Reply

