Brie en Croute

5 Feb

Today after work we had a baby shower for Heather. It was a really nice party, and the food was amazing. I made Mexican pinwheels last night to take to the party, and ended up making some other food as well. At lunch today, we got to talking about how excited we were for party food tonight, and the various things we’d brought. That reminded me about brie en croute, which Mari used to make sometimes at school. I started telling a couple of my coworkers about it, and their mouths were practically drooling. Enough people walked through the lounge by the end of the conversation that I knew I had to go to the grocery store to get the ingredients to make it. It’s very simple: a wheel of brie, covered with, in my case, blackberry or fig preserves, wrapped up in crescent roll dough, and baked. That’s it. It’s so simple, and yet so delicious. It’s just the right combination of sweetness from the preserves, smooth tanginess from the cheese, and crustiness from the outside. It was delicious, and everyone loved it. It totally doesn’t fit into my calorie allotment for the day, but it was well worth it.

There have been several people who have brought food into work lately – there’s pretty much not a day that goes by without some kind of baked goodness on the table in the staff lounge. I think I might bake my lemon curd cake for them soon. It’s sour and delicious, and I think will get us all in the mood for spring. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. Basically this entire day was spent focused on food. While it was quite an accomplishment to bake brie en croute at the museum, this wasn’t very important by a long shot.

The entire day was pretty busy, but I felt like I didn’t really get much accomplished today. It was one of those days where, even though I checked off a couple of piddly things from my to-do list, I didn’t feel very accomplished. No matter, though, because it was a pretty fun day anyway. It was nice to have something to do after work other than just going out to the gym. I need to make more social plans like this, to make myself feel like a real person. I tend to do that, get into a rut where I do the same workaholic thing over and over. I really love working at the museum, and I love the people I work with. I spend a lot of time at the museum but it doesn’t really feel like work so much. It’s such a great job. Days like today really make me excited about the real world.

Leave a Reply

