Everything in Transit

3 Feb

Today was my last official day on the floor as an educator at the museum. Tomorrow I’m taking over the outreach position full-time. I am very much looking forward to it, but also nervous at the same time. I’m taking on much more responsibility, which I know I can handle. But on the other hand, it just blows my mind that I’m old enough and mature enough to take on this kind of challenge. Since when did I get to be an actual adult? I’m not sure, but I can’t say that I hate it. I’m just really hoping that I’ll do a good job with the opportunity I’ve been given.

I haven’t been at the museum for very long, and even though I know it quite well, I still sometimes feel like I don’t know everything that goes on around there. You could say I know it like the back of my hand – I know where all the cleaning supplies are, random animal supplies, you name it. I wouldn’t say I know the inner workings of everything, but I certainly have a good idea of general operations. And hey, even the stuff I don’t know, fake it til you make it, right?

In other news, I’m officially going to Chicago at the end of the month for an interview at SAIC. My mom and I are flying up there for the weekend and for the interview day. In addition to all this, hopefully we’ll have some time to explore the city. I’ve never been there before, but I can’t wait to go for the first time! Everyone I know who’s ever been there – and that’s a lot of people – has never said anything bad about the city. It’s an official business/school trip, but in a way it feels like a mini-vacation. Especially going with my mom; I don’t think we’ve ever flown anywhere together before, so that should be fun. I love traveling, and I haven’t done it in quite a while. Even if nothing comes out of this trip, I’m glad to have the chance to go somewhere new.

Leave a Reply

