My Own Little Corner

25 Jan

Well, it’s official. I have an office now! Since the museum was closed today, I went in to clean out the outreach office that I’ll be using for the next year. It’s one of those small, closet-like areas of the museum that doesn’t always serve a purpose on a regular basis. It’s become kind of a catch-all for stuff that doesn’t have a home anywhere else. I spent the entire day cleaning, dusting, disinfecting, and throwing out. You wouldn’t believe some of the stuff I found in there.

It was all pretty random. Lots of art materials – well, not so much art as craft. I wouldn’t necessarily call them quality, either. I found tons of random papers and museum coupons that I ended up recycling. There just wasn’t a need to ave that stuff lying around anymore. And I can also make new copies of everything. I found at least three pennies, one of which I’m pretty sure I threw away by accident. I definitely found part of an old french fry in there. That one was by far the most disgusting find.

It’s kind of nice to have my own little corner of the museum, can have a private space to do work, and store my stuff. I think I might really love having a space to have a cup of tea and make phone calls. Cleaning the office today really made it feel official, like I can actually see myself doing this job for real now. I can’t wait to bring some pictures and other little things to really personalize my office. It’s definitely going to be very “me.” I’m making a little list of things I want to make sure to have on hand. I feel kind of dorky, getting so excited about office supplies, but it makes me feel like a kid again, going to the store to buy new school supplies for a brand-new school year. I can’t help myself: I’m a sucker for organization and school supplies. This is what I get now that I’m not in school anymore.

Today was also pretty fun because Heather and Liz invited me to go on a lunch date with them.  I had brought my lunch and had just planned on eating sometime during the day, but it was nice to have fun people to go out and eat with. We went to Chick-fil-A, which I haven’t been to in quite some time. It was delicious, and was just the perfect thing to boost up my energy for round 2 of cleaning in the afternoon.

It was liberating to get rid of all the extra stuff in that office. Kind of like I’m starting over, from scratch. Sure, there are still lots of papers and files to go over, and some serious acclimating on my part, but I can’t help but feel like I have a brand-new start.  Now that it’s all in order, it’s real. And it’s pretty exciting.

Leave a Reply

