AmeriCorps

21 Jan

On Tuesday, the executive director of the museum approached me about an opportunity to serve with AmeriCorps as the outreach manager in the museum. This gave me a lot to think about, because it requires one full year of service, meaning I’d have to delay my grad school plans that I’ve been working on recently. Basically I’d be quitting my job as an educator at the museum and be employed by AmeriCorps, in charge of all the outreach programs. While this sounded really appealing, I definitely had to think about it, about what I really wanted to be doing the next year or so.

I didn’t have long to think about it, either, because there was an interview and orientation today. Remember I said this all started on Tuesday, meaning I had two days to think about what I was going to do. I really wanted my art therapy professor’s advice on the situation, but she was unfortunately out of the country. So, long story short, I decided to go ahead and fill out the application and get the references, and drive down to Rutledge today to have the interview. I ended up staying for the orientation, and now I’m officially a member of AmeriCorps. That’s right. I decided to go ahead and do it. This also means I’ll be living here at home for another year and a half. Not exactly in my original plan, but things do change.

So this means that I’m no longer working at the museum, but serving a year in AmeriCorps. I’m getting a stipend for my work, and an education award as soon as I finish all my hours and other requirements. And I’m not going to be an educator at the museum anymore. I’ll be in charge of all the outreach programs, going to schools and libraries and other local organizations like I did last month with BioFuels. Except this time I’ll be coordinating all of it.

No pressure, really.

I do think it will be a good experience. I get my own office, and have a computer to work on, and get to develop several new outreach programs. I’ll get to meet all kinds of people around town and go to lots of different events. I already have a few ideas for summer camps and other things I’d like to do. I’m really nervous about it, because it’s my first official management position. But I’m up to the challenge. Hopefully this will be a great learning experience for me, and open some new doors. As for the grad school thing, I’m still planning on doing it, but deferring for a year. I’m going to finish all my interviews, because I don’t want to have wasted my time filling out applications, getting recommendations, and taking the GRE for no reason. I think serving in AmeriCorps will look good on my resume, too. It’s not like I’m putting off school to do something lazy. It’s something worthwhile.

My motto of the year is to take advantage of opportunities, and this was one I just couldn’t pass up. I don’t want to have any regrets about it. In a year, I’ll really have accomplished great things, and have taken advantage of a great opportunity.

Here’s to a new position, and no regrets.

Leave a Reply

