Winter of Discontent

8 Jan

Yet again I find myself snowed in, away from work, with nothing to do. A day off is nice, but when it gets strung out into several, it starts getting tedious. My house is very quiet, which is good for relaxation for that one day off. However, when snow decides to keep us all indoors, all day, there really is nothing to do. On top of that, my parents insist on driving me everywhere I want to go, because my car doesn’t have four-wheel drive. Now, I’m a big believer in safety, but at the same time, I don’t appreciate being held hostage in my own house. I’m really at a loss for things to do, because there’s only so much time you can spend at home doing nothing. There’s no homework to do, no papers to write (for these facts I am grateful), no room to clean, nothing. I could be reading (Lord knows there’s an endless pile of unread books waiting for me), but I just want to get OUT. I don’t like staying cooped up for days on end.

I’m ready to be back at work. At least then I will be making some money. That’s the other thing: sitting around here, doing nothing, I’m not making money. But at work, I most certainly am. I’m feeling a little like I was back in the summer, waiting to hear back from potential employers, going broke and going insane. My upcoming paycheck is going to be worth practically nothing.

We’re going to see Avatar here in a little bit, which I’m very much looking forward to. Not because I especially want to see that movie, but because this is something my brother actually wants to do with us. He’s leaving for school again tomorrow, after spending his entire break seeing friends and playing video games. Also, because it’s getting me out of the house. If I’d had my way, I would have just gone to Barnes and Noble hours ago – anything to get me out of the house.

They say that most people, if they didn’t absolutely have to, would still choose to work. I think this is quite true, because I’m going insane and it’s only been a few days. I just need something to keep myself occupied all the time, and working certainly takes up a good portion of that. I don’t think I would last very long as a housewife.

Leave a Reply

