Ten Things Tuesday – December 22

22 Dec

Ten favorite Christmas movies:

1. A Christmas Story. So classic and wonderful, they play it for 24 hours straight on Christmas Day. I probably love it so much because I only watch it this one day of the whole year. And honestly, I don’t get tired of watching it even then. Just pull it out once, and you’re good for an entire year. And still, no matter how many times I see it, it’s always hilarious.

2. Elf. There are so many Elf-referencing Facebook statuses right now. I really think all my friends are watching this movie at the same time…

3. Christmas Vacation. We all love to watch Chevy Chase annoy the hell out of his neighbors with his obnoxious light display.

4. Muppet Christmas Carol. I mean really, who doesn’t love a good Muppet movie? There might not even be such a thing as a bad one. And definitely not A Christmas Carol. It could only take Muppets to make this story even better.

5. Home Alone. I don’t care what you say. I still like to see Macaulay Culkin beat the crap out of those two burglars. Honestly, what kid doesn’t want to booby-trap their own house?

6. How the Grinch Stole Christmas. The old-school one, not that new version that they completely ripped to shreds. There’s nothing like watching that old Grinch’s heart grow three sizes, and carving the roast beast. And his poor little dog, Max, is just so funny!

7. A Charlie Brown Christmas. Poor Charlie Brown. Trying to find the meaning of Christmas and direct the Christmas play, when all his friends want to do is have a Beatnik dance party. And that sad little tree – it just goes to show that you really can create something beautiful from something so small and seemingly insignificant. I love Linus, Lucy, Snoopy, and the whole gang.

8. The Snowman. A short film based on the illustrated children’s book. It’s just an instrumental score, with no dialogue (except a brief introduction by David Bowie). I used to watch this all the time when I was little, and I found it again several years ago. At school we used to always watch it during exam week, as our nightly study break. It’s just so beautiful in its simplicity and elegance.

9. Love Actually. Because all you need is love, especially at Christmas. And really, what better time to tell the truth than at Christmas?

10. The Holiday. Technically not a Christmas movie, as the genre goes, but still so wonderful. I could watch it over and over again, and never get tired of it. Those two little girls are just so adorable, and I absolutely love the relationship between Kate Winslet and Jack Black’s characters. I want to find a goofy man like that.

Leave a Reply

