Comin’ Round the Mountain

6 Dec

As much as I really love the holiday season, it certainly has its annoyances.

For one, traffic this time of year is just terrible. I’m sure it’s nothing compared to say, Atlanta or Chicago or New York. But all the people who live way up in the hills come down here to the “big city” to do their Christmas shopping, bringing their terrible driving skills with them.

Then once they get out of their cars and get in public, they don’t know how to act. It’s amazing how so many rednecks will converge in this one area, only to proceed to take over everything in sight. Truly, they don’t know how to behave. I know it’s a gross overstatement and stereotype to say this, but year after year they prove its partial truth. It’s like they come in and take over everything. This is particularly true at work, where they think that, just because they’ve paid admission, they can come and do whatever they please. I can’t tell you how annoying this is. I just really want them to grow some manners. I can’t stand dealing with them, because coming down from their trailers in the sticks somehow grants them permission to go hog wild on the rest of the civilized world.

I consider myself lucky that I didn’t have to get out in the middle of the Black Friday rush this year. I usually don’t, despite the good sales. It just reinforces the capitalist spirit of Christmas that has taken charge. I just don’t feel it’s necessary to rush out and finish all my Christmas shopping in a few hours one morning, when everyone else in the world will be out at the exact same time. It’s not a game to me, and I don’t enjoy the thrill of snatching things off of racks before anyone else can.

It gets so annoying to do anything around town these days. Luckily, I don’t have many places to go other than work, so I can avoid this mad rush for the most part. Every year traffic just seems to get worse and worse. Having lived here my whole life, I know all the shortcuts and backroads, and all the major places to avoid. Not to mention the right hours to time eating out at restaurants, which become so overcrowded this time of year, filled with hungry shoppers and travelers, impatiently demanding excellent service from overworked waiters.

Don’t get me wrong. I don’t hate Christmas. I just do not appreciate the swarms of people descending upon us this time of year. It disrupts the natural rhythm and harmony in town, which I do not appreciate. I will be very glad when the mad shopping season is over.

Leave a Reply

