Through the Looking Glass

28 Nov

I finally finished Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass today, after months of slacker reading. It was different than I expected it to be, although I did very much enjoy it. I’m itching to watch the Disney version of it again; it’s been so long since I’ve seen that! This wasn’t a particularly hard book to get through, even though it is rather confusing and totally cracked-out. I had to take long breaks in the middle to study for that GRE, which really interrupted my pleasure reading time. Not only that, but I just haven’t really been reading that much lately. I do miss this quite a bit when I don’t have some new book to read. Which really, I have no excuse for. I have so many books in my room, lots that have been read, and lots still on my list to get to someday. My problem is that I can’t stay away from bookstores, and am always tempted to buy something else to add to the shelves. I need to get through all the books I have here first, and then get some new things.

I went to the used bookstore the other day and bought some new books that I’m excited about. I have been trying to add to my collection of Redwall books, with the hopes of going back to read the entire series someday soon. I used to really enjoy reading these books a few years ago, and I’ve recently rediscovered them. Just a few more and I will have the whole collection!

Before I get to that, though, I’ve decided to read Angels and Demons and The Da Vinci Code. I’ve never read either of these books, although I have seen both the movies. I just got Angels and Demons a few days ago from Netflix, and it just blew me away! I’m not really big on conspiracy theories and all that, but I do enjoy pondering the great mysteries of history. There’s so much that has happened in the thousands of years humans have been on earth, and there’s absolutely no way anyone will ever uncover our secrets. It’s fascinating to me to think that, over thousands of years, for all the works of art, books, and other such achievements that have been made public, there are still countless things that are still kept hidden. As an art student, I love learning about iconography, symbols, and everything along those lines. I don’t really know how much of this can ever be proved or disproved, but it is quite fun to daydream about the possibility of things as monumental as this. Even though I already know the stories in these two books, I have a feeling I’m going to be quite entranced by the books. I can’t wait. It’s been a few months since I’ve really had something this good and intriguing – not to mention thought-provoking – to read. It’s funny. When I was younger, I didn’t like historical fiction at all, and now I love it. Maybe it’s the ones that are art-related that I enjoy so much. I think those tend to have the greatest mystery.

Leave a Reply

