Ten Things Tuesday – October 27

27 Oct

Happy birthday to me! Today’s list contains 23 items, in celebration of turning 23 today. It’s an odd number for a list, but it’s the alliteration that counts.

23 random good things about my life:

1. My family has been really supportive of me the past few months. There have been some difficulties in my life lately, and they’ve helped me with them. It’s also really great that they’re so willing to help me out with things like school loans, health insurance, etc. Not to mention that they’re letting me live under their roof again, after living on my own for so long.

2. It’s fall, the best season of the entire year! This one is especially beautiful.

3. I’m so thankful to have a job that I like so much! It took me such a long time to find something, and I’m glad that the wait paid off so well.

4. The best thing I’ve discovered in a long time has been my life saver recently, and that’s Netflix. I love it so much. It’s the most convenient and addicting thing in the world. I’m constantly updating my queue, and I’ve seen so many good movies recently because I signed up for it. It’s the perfect thing for someone like me, who lives to watch the silver screen.

5. I can’t believe how lucky I was that I was able to go to Governor’s School twice – once as a student, and once as a counselor. It truly is a life-changing experience, and just reaffirms my faith in the arts. I met so many amazing people there, as well, that I hope I stay in contact with for a long time.

6. My mom is trying out every recipe in her Paula Deen cookbook, which isn’t doing anything good for my waistline, but doing wonders at the dinner table.

7. My grad school applications are coming along well. I’m gad to have the opportunity to continue my education. Even though I’m not decided about where I want to go, I’m just happy to have the option.

8. Even though my old hard drive is completely dead, I saved all my music, pictures, and documents before this happened. I’m so glad I did, because now that I have a new and improved computer, I didn’t lose anything that would have devasted me.

9. I’m learning not to let things bother me.

10. It’s been a long time since I’ve done anything artsy or creative, but I’m getting back into knitting lately. I bought some great new yarn, and I can’t wait to try it out. I always feel happier when I have some project going on.

11. No matter how old you get, or how late you stay up at night, sleeping in always feels good.

12. I don’t know what I would do without The Beatles in my life. I’d die without their music. Really. I can’t even express how much I love them, and how much they’ve given to me. It’s truly incredible what we, as creative humans, are capable of.

13. I’m so thankful to have found my calling in life. I have no doubt in my mind that I was born to be an art therapist. It’s just such an incredible, interesting, and helpful field. I don’t know where specifically I’ll end up yet, but I know that I’m headed down the right path.

14. Blogging has been so therapeutic for me. Even when I feel like no one else will listen, I can always write. I have an outlet of expression that I never grow tired of. And not only that, but it fulfills my need to make lists all the time.

15. I’ve had some incredible opportunities to travel in the last several years, and I hope this continues. There’s not much I love more than exploring new countries, eating foreign cuisines, and learning a new language. I hope that, the next time I go to Europe, I’ll be fluent in French. I never want to pass up the chance to travel, because it’s just so wonderful. My trips have been life-changing. There’s still so much of the world for me to experience!

16. InStyle is the single greatest magazine I’ve ever laid eyes on. They have the best ideas for fashion, that real women can actually wear. They’re always conscious about finding flattering looks for everyone, no matter where, or who, you are. If I had gone into any sort of media or communications field, I would love to work for them.

17. I’m so glad I have art in my life. I don’t paint nearly as much as I should, but it’s good that I can do it. I should really take advantage of the makeshift studio my dad set up for me.

18. As lame as it sounds, FarmVille is really fun.

19. My mom is making a red velvet cake for me today. This is my all-time favorite.

20. There are a few really great people in my life that are there for me no matter what. I’m so glad to know them, and lucky that they put up with me!

21. I don’t even want to imagine my life without Harry Potter. Or books in general, for that matter. I’ve read some really good ones lately, and I consider myself  lucky that I love reading so much. It’s a good escape from everyday life, and fuels my imagination.

22. I’m lucky that people don’t judge me for loving shoes as much as I do. I have the greatest collection of shoes of anyone I know. I’m such a typical girl, and I just can’t help it. Put a pretty pair of shoes in front of me, and I have a very hard time resisting.

23. I’m glad that my brother and I are getting to be friends now. We’re not especially close, because he tends to stay in his own little world while down at school. He doesn’t share much about his life, but we do get along well. And he does come to be when he really needs me. I hope we can get to be closer in the next few years.

One Response to “Ten Things Tuesday – October 27”

  1. desiree 27 October, 2009 at 7:44 pm #

    I love you!! Happy B Day.

Leave a Reply

