Crossing T’s and Dotting I’s

19 Oct

There are few things I like better than having a to-do list and getting a lot of the things on it crossed off. I did that today, which makes me feel very accomplished. I got up at a fairly decent hour, considering that I went bed around 3:30. I spent the day running errands around town, taking books to the used bookstore, finding t-shirts to paint for a Halloween costume, and other things on my to-do list. It feels like it’s about a mile long, but it’s slowly getting accomplished.

Today I had to go down to the bureau where my parents have their health insurance and apply for my own. It’s probably the most grown-up thing I’ve done in a good long while. Since I’m about to turn 23, and am not currently a full-time student, my mom’s insurance will not cover me anymore. Luckily my parents are still willing to pay for it, but I had to fill out a lot of paperwork about it. There are so many legal terms that go along with being an adult that I wish they would teach you in school. I now nothing about selecting health insurance, leasing an apartment or having a mortgage, or financing a car. All would be good things to know how to do; at the very least, to get the terminology right. A college education, and sometimes I still feel like I’m not qualified to do anything.

Speaking of college, I spent a good portion of my day filling out graduate school applications, gathering addresses and emails for recommendation letters, mailing off transcript requests, and updating my resume. It’s amazing how much it takes to just apply to school, a fact which I’d forgotten from four years ago, and also because graduate school is way more involved that undergraduate (and rightly so). It could also be that I’m not entirely sure about where I want to go. For the longest time, I thought I really wanted to go to George Washington. It’s still my top pick, but now I’ve also decided to apply to the Art Institute of Chicago. Both have excellent art therapy programs, and I like them for different reasons. I could see myself living in either Chicago or DC. I just have to visit each school and find out really where my place is. Right now we’re just in the application stages, which is a job in itself. I’ll definitely be glad when some final decisions have been made in regards to admission and acceptance. The future is just full of possibilities, but sometimes I wish I had a little road map that told me exactly what I should be doing. It certainly would be much easier than having to make up my mind for myself!

It’s been getting kind of difficult to get things done online lately, owing to the fact that my computer has a pretty serious virus. All that stupid virus protection they make you put on your computer at school doesn’t do anything to actually protect it. Whatever I have has been on there for a good while, and I’m fairly certain it’s going to wipe out my hard drive. Luckily I have an external hard drive where I have copied everything that’s really unreplaceable. However, this doesn’t really make me feel much better about potentially losing everything and starting over. It makes me really mad that people create viruses and other terrible things to unleash to innocent people around the world. I’ve done nothing to hurt them, so why should they want to create something to destroy my best link to the world? That’s got to be about the meanest thing ever, because they’re not really gaining anything out of it.

I guess I’m able to be more productive because I’m not sitting on my computer doing stuff all night. It makes it a little difficult to watch movies on Netflix online, but my room has gotten a lot cleaner. I’m slowly working my way through small piles of papers and clothes and other junk that have slowly been accumulating since I’ve started working. There never seems to be an end to things to clean. Since I got out all my winter clothes, I’ve had to reorganize things around my room to make sure everything has a place. This does mean buying more new hangers, a summer closet renovation project that never quite got finished. Maybe it never will.

At least the weather was nice for all my running around on my day off. After at least a week of rain, cold, and cloudy days, the sun finally came out again today. It was such a nice day, even warm enough that I didn’t need a jacket. It really was great that I didn’t have to waste such a pretty day inside working for eight hours. Hopefully this nice weather will keep up for a while. I really don’t mind the cold at all – in fact, it’s my favorite kind of weather to dress in – as long as it is sunny enough to give the impression of being warmer than it really is. If I’m going to be moving further north next year, I need to start getting used to it.

All in all a productive day. Now back to six straight days of work!

Leave a Reply

