A Grand Misadventure

12 Oct

The never-ending stream of calamities and lucky breaks that is my life reached a low point yesterday. I was getting ready for work in the morning, having slightly overslept a little bit. I decided to make up for this by wearing my hair curly, significantly cutting down on grooming time. This did not, however, prevent me from being clumsy.

As I was reaching for my chosen perfume of the day, I pulled the cap a little prematurely, and dropped it. Perfume bottles, being made of glass, don’t hold up well to being dropped on a bathroom counter. Of course it broke. And of course it was a nearly-full bottle. When this happened I kind of stood there for a minute in complete disbelief. At that point, there’s not really much you can do.

The perfume spilled all over me, so I had to stop and go change pants for work. I started to really worry when I noticed the perfume was stripping the paint off the bathroom cabinets and the color from my hair straightener in the sink. Luckily it doesn’t have this same effect on clothes, although I was pretty worried about that at first. My mom and I immediately threw my pants and my rugs in the washing machine to prevent them from getting ruined, and luckily it worked. Now my bathroom and the entire upstairs hallway smells like my perfume. It’s a good smell, just a little overpowering considering there’s an entire bottle of it spilled. Needless to say this was not a good start to the day.

And it didn’t get much better from there. We had a free day at work, so there were tons of people in the museum. Not to mention the two birthday parties, one of which we stayed late for. Looking back it wasn’t as bad as it really could have been, but I wouldn’t say I particularly had a good day. The new guy was working downstairs with me again, which was nice to have the extra help. I had to do a financial literacy program in the kids’ bank today that I’d never done before, so that made me a little nervous. It went off pretty well, though, because not that many people were interested in learning about money. Not that I blame them that much.

Anyway, the day was mostly spent being a broken record. Don’t run. Use inside voices. Don’t walk up the slide. Go down the slide feet first. Don’t go down the slide on your tummy. No adults on the slide. The bathrooms are over there. We close at five. The art studio is open. It was a bit exhausting. It felt a little like the parents who brought their kids had decided they didn’t want to be parents for about two hours, so they brought them to the museum for us to babysit. It was a bit ridiculous. It’s kind of sad when your mom and dad bring you to a family museum and then proceed to text the entire time. Western civilization. At one point I stood at the doors of the coal mine, watching people come down the slide, ready to pounce at the first kid who tried to walk back up. And amazingly, it was mostly adults who had bad slide etiquette. I can’t tell you how many dads I saw walking up the slide, their kids following.

It’s amazing. There is no common sense left in the world. I wouldn’t say I had a terrible day, but not an exceptionally good one, either. I’m just not looking forward to the next free day we have at the museum. And now I’ve lost an entire bottle of perfume that I really liked. Guess that’s going on my birthday list.

Leave a Reply

